Alternative Teacher Certification in Arkansas
The short answer
Arkansas alternative licensure starts with a bachelor’s degree and a DESE-listed pathway such as ArPEP, iTeach, PPTL, or an approved master’s-leading-to-licensure program. Most routes require Praxis subject scores and background clearance before you become teacher of record on a Provisional License. ArPEP is a two-year DESE-administered program with summer and monthly training. Convert to the five-year Standard License after assessments—including Foundations of Reading 890 at 233 for elementary and special education—and pay the $75.00 Standard fee.
- Choose a DESE-listed alternate pathway and hold a bachelor’s degree
- Pass Praxis subject assessments before teaching where the pathway requires it
- Apply in AELS for the Provisional or non-traditional license
- Complete mentoring, pedagogy, and Right to Read obligations
Key takeaways
- Arkansas alternative licensure starts with a bachelor’s degree and a DESE-listed pathway such as ArPEP, iTeach, PPTL, or an approved master’s-leading-to-licensure program. Most routes require Praxis subject scores and background clearance before you become teacher of record on a Provisional License. ArPEP is a two-year DESE-administered program with summer and monthly training. Convert to the five-year Standard License after assessments—including Foundations of Reading 890 at 233 for elementary and special education—and pay the $75.00 Standard fee.
- Choose a DESE-listed alternate pathway and hold a bachelor’s degree
- Pass Praxis subject assessments before teaching where the pathway requires it
- Apply in AELS for the Provisional or non-traditional license
Arkansas alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Arkansas Department of Education — Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Choose a DESE-listed alternate pathway and hold a bachelor’s degree
DESE’s Pathways to Licensure page lists ArPEP, Arkansas Teacher Corps, Highly Qualified Professor, iTeach, the Provisional Professional Teaching License, Teach For America, approved master’s routes that lead to a first-time license, and other providers. These routes typically let you serve as teacher of record while finishing requirements. Special Education K-12, Adult Education, and Guidance/School Counseling are excluded from several of the post-baccalaureate options.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Pass Praxis subject assessments before teaching where the pathway requires it
ArPEP, iTeach, PPTL, and several other routes require passing Praxis Subject Assessment scores for the subject and grade level before a teaching position and provisional license. ArPEP also requires clearance of all required background checks and a two-year commitment as teacher of record with summer intensives and monthly training.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Apply in AELS for the Provisional or non-traditional license
AELS accepts applications for a Standard or Provisional Arkansas teaching license and for non-traditional licenses (including TFA, MAT/MEd/MTLL, and the former APPEL pathway). Employment documentation and program enrollment or provider recommendation are part of the file. Provisional licenses may run up to three years under current licensure rules.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Complete mentoring, pedagogy, and Right to Read obligations
ArPEP is a two-year work-based program administered by DESE. PPTL requires 12 hours of pedagogy training each year of licensure in addition to district and statutory professional development. Elementary and special education candidates on alternate routes still owe Foundations of Reading 890 at 233 for a Standard License.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Convert to the five-year Standard License
After program completion, required assessments, background checks, and provider or superintendent recommendation, apply in AELS for the Standard License and pay the $75.00 first-time fee if you have not already paid it for a Standard credential. American Board completers become eligible for a three-year provisional and then a Standard after three years of teaching, mentoring, and superintendent recommendation.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
ArPEP is the Division’s own work-based program, not a campus MAT with a different label. DESE describes a two-year commitment, two weeks of face-to-face summer training each year, monthly training, and a teacher-of-record job for the entire program. Applications open March–May. It leads to any first-time area except Special Education K-12, Adult Education, and Guidance and School Counseling—so a career changer aiming at K-12 special education must pick a different approved route.
PPTL is the outlier: DESE says there is no training or support beyond what the employing district gives every novice, plus 12 hours of pedagogy each year. It excludes Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12. Candidates who want structured coaching should not treat PPTL as interchangeable with ArPEP or iTeach. Praxis subject scores and background checks still have to clear before the provisional is issued.
Provider price tags on the pathways page (ArPEP $2,250 per year, iTeach monthly tuition, American Board enrollment) are program tuition, not DESE’s license fee. The Division’s Standard application remains $75. Do not confuse those figures when budgeting; only the $75 license/renewal amounts are DESE application fees used in this dataset.
American Board’s Arkansas exit is slower than ArPEP’s. Completers become eligible for a three-year provisional and need three years of teaching, the state’s mentoring program, and a superintendent recommendation before the Standard License. That timeline matters for anyone comparing a self-paced online provider with DESE’s two-year ArPEP clock.
Required exams and fees
Arkansas uses Praxis subject assessments plus NES Foundations of Reading 890 (cut score 233) for Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Subject Assessment(s) for the teaching assignment
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- NES Foundations of Reading 890 — Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12
- Passing score
- 233
- Fee
- Not reported.
Arkansas certification exams, DESE — Pathways to Licensure: Alternate Routes. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Provisional status is not a long-term renewal path. Finish the alternate program, assessments, and mentoring, then obtain the Standard License and follow fifth-year AELS renewal with background checks and required professional development ($75 renewal fee).
Moving a license to Arkansas
Alternate routes are for candidates entering Arkansas’s pipeline, not for converting another state’s emergency certificate automatically. Licensed out-of-state teachers should use DESE’s Licensure by Reciprocity page. Remaining testing or Arkansas History can be covered by a superintendent-signed VOPLE Provisional while those items are finished.
Official Arkansas reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Arkansas
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Arkansas; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $86,330
- Employed
- 2,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $78,240
- Employed
- 1,970
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $52,700
- Employed
- 12,590
- Projected growth
- +11.9%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,570
- Employed
- 6,140
- Projected growth
- +11.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,660
- Employed
- 12,890
- Projected growth
- +11.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Arkansas, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Every Arkansas preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is ArPEP?
The Arkansas Professional Educator Pathway is a two-year, work-based alternate program administered by DESE. Candidates need a bachelor’s degree, passing Praxis subject scores, background clearance, and a teacher-of-record job. It excludes Special Education K-12, Adult Education, and Guidance and School Counseling.
Do alternative-route teachers take Foundations of Reading?
Yes, if they are licensing in Elementary K-6 or Special Education K-12. DESE and ArPEP materials require the stand-alone reading assessment (NES 890, passing score 233) for proficiency in those fields.
Is there a fee for an Arkansas Provisional License?
DESE’s published fee chart lists Provisional License applications as no-fee. The first-time five-year Standard License is $75.00 nonrefundable.
References
- DESE — Pathways to Licensure: Alternate Routes. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Praxis subject assessments before teaching where the pathway requires it. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in AELS for the Provisional or non-traditional license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Arkansas Department of Education — Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Arkansas certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.