How to Become a Teacher in Arkansas
The short answer
To become a teacher in Arkansas through a traditional program, complete a DESE-approved educator preparation program, pass Praxis content assessments and—for Elementary K-6 or Special Education K-12—NES Foundations of Reading 890 at 233, clear ASP/FBI/Child Maltreatment background checks in AELS, and apply for the five-year Standard License with the $75.00 nonrefundable fee. A one-year Provisional License can cover remaining Arkansas History or reading-test gaps while you are employed.
- Complete a DESE-approved traditional educator preparation program
- Pass Praxis content tests and Foundations of Reading where required
- Create an AELS profile and complete background checks
- Apply for the five-year Standard License and pay $75
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Arkansas through a traditional program, complete a DESE-approved educator preparation program, pass Praxis content assessments and—for Elementary K-6 or Special Education K-12—NES Foundations of Reading 890 at 233, clear ASP/FBI/Child Maltreatment background checks in AELS, and apply for the five-year Standard License with the $75.00 nonrefundable fee. A one-year Provisional License can cover remaining Arkansas History or reading-test gaps while you are employed.
- Complete a DESE-approved traditional educator preparation program
- Pass Praxis content tests and Foundations of Reading where required
- Create an AELS profile and complete background checks
Arkansas certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Arkansas Department of Education — Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a DESE-approved traditional educator preparation program
Earn a first-time license by finishing a Division-approved traditional program in the licensure level and content area you will teach. The program must verify completion to DESE. Applicants whose most recent program is more than ten years old must complete current licensure assessments.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Pass Praxis content tests and Foundations of Reading where required
Submit official passing scores on the State Board–mandated content-area assessments. Elementary Education (K-6) and Special Education (K-12) also require NES Foundations of Reading 890 with a published passing score of 233. Reciprocity applicants adding P-4 Early Childhood likewise need Foundations of Reading. DESE’s licensure-assessments table lists current test codes and cuts.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Create an AELS profile and complete background checks
New applicants start in the Arkansas Educator Licensure System (AELS) by completing the online Background Check Consent form, then ASP, FBI, and Child Maltreatment checks required by Division background-check rules. Licensed-educator background-check steps are published on the DESE licensure site.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Apply for the five-year Standard License and pay $75
File the Standard License application in AELS with official transcripts, program verification, and score reports. DESE’s published fee for a first-time five-year Standard Educator’s License (including by reciprocity) is $75.00 and is nonrefundable. A Standard License runs January 1 of the issue year through December 31 of the fifth year.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Complete Arkansas History and science-of-reading requirements when they apply
Licensure rules allow a one-year Provisional License when the remaining gaps are Arkansas History or the stand-alone reading test. Right to Read / scientific reading instruction applies at the proficiency level for Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12 and at the awareness level for other areas. Renew in the fifth year through AELS with new background checks and required professional development documented in Arkansas IDEAS.
Source: dese.ade.arkansas.gov
Arkansas dates the Standard License to the calendar year, not the hire date. A license issued in March still begins January 1 of that year and still dies on December 31 five years later. Educators who treat it like a rolling anniversary will file renewal too late. DESE no longer prints a paper license at renewal; the official copy lives on the AELS Educator View screen.
The science-of-reading split is a licensing rule, not just a syllabus note. Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12 must hit proficiency, which includes Foundations of Reading 890 at 233. Every other first-time area is an awareness-level coursework or module obligation. Candidates who pass Praxis content and skip 890 will see a Provisional, not a Standard, if they are in those two fields. Reciprocity does not wipe the reading test for K-6, K-12 Special Education, or P-4 Early Childhood.
AELS profile creation is the background-check consent form. Applicants who try to start a Standard application before that consent stall in a system that looks empty rather than rejected. Districts can search AELS by case ID, SSN, or name, so HR often sees the incomplete consent before the candidate realizes why no license number exists.
The $75 fee appears on both the first-time Standard (including reciprocity) and renewal lines of DESE’s published fee chart. Provisional applications are listed as no-fee. That asymmetry tempts people to linger on Provisional status; the Standard is still the five-year credential that carries add-on endorsements and the Educator Career Continuum designations.
Required exams and fees
Arkansas uses Praxis subject assessments plus NES Foundations of Reading 890 (cut score 233) for Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis content-area assessment(s) — license-area specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- NES Foundations of Reading 890 — Elementary K-6 and Special Education K-12
- Passing score
- 233
- Fee
- Not reported.
Arkansas certification exams, DESE — How to Obtain a License. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew during the fifth year in AELS. New ASP, FBI, and Child Maltreatment background checks are required. Complete the professional development scheduled for the five-year cycle (Arkansas IDEAS is the common documentation system). The published renewal fee is $75.00.
Moving a license to Arkansas
Apply in AELS for licensure by reciprocity with the $75.00 nonrefundable fee, official transcripts, a copy of a current or expired out-of-state license that has been in good standing for the educator’s three most recent years of teaching, content-area testing required for that license if applicable, Foundations of Reading if licensing in K-6 Elementary, K-12 Special Education, or P-4 Early Childhood, documentation of three years of licensed teaching experience if applicable, required professional development, and a Verification of Teaching form. A Provisional license is available if the remaining gaps are content testing or Arkansas History; DESE sends a VOPLE for the employing superintendent to sign.
Official Arkansas reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Arkansas
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Arkansas; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $86,330
- Employed
- 2,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $78,240
- Employed
- 1,970
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $52,700
- Employed
- 12,590
- Projected growth
- +11.9%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,570
- Employed
- 6,140
- Projected growth
- +11.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,660
- Employed
- 12,890
- Projected growth
- +11.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Arkansas, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Every Arkansas preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is an Arkansas teaching license?
DESE publishes a $75.00 nonrefundable fee for a first-time five-year Standard Educator’s License, including by reciprocity, and $75.00 to renew. Provisional License applications are listed as no-fee on the Division’s fee chart.
What score do I need on Foundations of Reading in Arkansas?
DESE’s licensure-assessments table lists NES Foundations of Reading 890 with a passing score of 233 for Elementary (K-6) and Special Education (K-12).
How long is an Arkansas Standard License valid?
Five years. DESE states the license begins January 1 of the year it is issued and expires December 31 of the fifth year. Educators may start renewal at any time during the fifth year.
Does Arkansas grant reciprocity for an out-of-state license?
Yes, through DESE’s Licensure by Reciprocity process in AELS. You still submit transcripts, the $75 fee, license documentation, and Foundations of Reading if you are licensing in K-6, K-12 Special Education, or P-4 Early Childhood. A Provisional license can cover remaining content testing or Arkansas History after the superintendent signs the VOPLE.
References
- DESE — How to Obtain a License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a DESE-approved traditional educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Praxis content tests and Foundations of Reading where required. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Create an AELS profile and complete background checks. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete Arkansas History and science-of-reading requirements when they apply. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Arkansas Department of Education — Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Arkansas certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.