Alternative Teacher Certification in Alaska
The short answer
Alaska’s classroom alternative path is district-sponsored. Initial Program Enrollment requires a bachelor’s degree, current enrollment in an approved preparation program, Praxis (or approved) basic competency and content exams, five years of subject-matter experience, four Mandatory Trainings, fingerprints mailed to Juneau, and a district assurance of a certified teaching position. The certificate lasts one year with two possible one-year extensions. Military-affiliated candidates may use Green to Teach with ABCTE coursework in a participating district. Certificate fee is $200.
- Confirm you need a district-sponsored pathway
- Meet Program Enrollment academic and testing gates
- Obtain district sponsorship and apply in TEACH-AK
- Teach on a one-year certificate while finishing preparation
Key takeaways
- Alaska’s classroom alternative path is district-sponsored. Initial Program Enrollment requires a bachelor’s degree, current enrollment in an approved preparation program, Praxis (or approved) basic competency and content exams, five years of subject-matter experience, four Mandatory Trainings, fingerprints mailed to Juneau, and a district assurance of a certified teaching position. The certificate lasts one year with two possible one-year extensions. Military-affiliated candidates may use Green to Teach with ABCTE coursework in a participating district. Certificate fee is $200.
- Confirm you need a district-sponsored pathway
- Meet Program Enrollment academic and testing gates
- Obtain district sponsorship and apply in TEACH-AK
Alaska alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Alaska Department of Education & Early Development — Teacher Education and Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Confirm you need a district-sponsored pathway
DEED directs applicants who do not meet Initial or Professional Teacher Certificate requirements to district-sponsored certificates. The classroom-facing options include Initial Program Enrollment (enrolled in an approved preparation program and hired by a district) and limited Type M certificates for language and culture, military science, or career-technical expertise. Green to Teach is a separate post-baccalaureate route for active-duty military members, veterans, and military spouses.
Source: education.alaska.gov
Meet Program Enrollment academic and testing gates
For Initial Program Enrollment, hold a bachelor’s degree, document current enrollment in an approved teacher preparation program, pass an approved basic competency exam and content-area exam (special education enrollees substitute 9.0 semester hours of special education coursework for the content exam), and show five years of subject-matter experience on a resume. Complete the four Mandatory Trainings.
Source: education.alaska.gov
Obtain district sponsorship and apply in TEACH-AK
An Alaska public school district must offer a certified teaching position and submit a District Request and Assurance Form. Upload the Proof of Program Enrollment form, transcripts, exam scores, trainings, and a fingerprint card mailed to Juneau. Pay the $200 Limited/certificate fee published on DEED’s fees table. Endorsements match the program named on the enrollment form.
Source: education.alaska.gov
Teach on a one-year certificate while finishing preparation
A Program Enrollment certificate is valid for one year and may be extended twice (two additional one-year extensions). Extensions again require district assurance, mandatory trainings, and fees. This is employment-tied authorization, not a substitute for completing the preparation program.
Source: education.alaska.gov
Convert to Initial or Professional after program completion
When the approved program is finished, apply in TEACH-AK for the Initial or Professional Teacher Certificate that matches your experience. You will still need Alaska studies and multicultural coursework, current exams, trainings, and fingerprints. Military-affiliated Green to Teach candidates complete ABCTE coursework plus on-the-job learning in a DEED-approved participating district and must hold a Student Teacher Authorization before placement.
Source: education.alaska.gov
Program Enrollment is a subject-matter-expert statute pathway (AS 14.20.022), not a generic intern license. The five-year experience resume is as important as the enrollment form. Districts that skip the assurance paperwork leave the candidate unable to be the teacher of record even if TEACH-AK login works. Special education is the one endorsement that swaps the content exam for nine semester hours of special education coursework—an exception that does not apply to other fields.
The extension math is unforgiving: one year plus two one-year extensions is the entire runway to finish the preparation program and convert. There is no fourth year of Program Enrollment. Candidates who start late in a rural district with limited course access need a program that can actually finish inside that window, because DEED will not convert an incomplete enrollment certificate into a Professional Teacher Certificate.
Green to Teach is narrower than many military-spouse portability stories imply. Eligibility is limited to active-duty members, veterans, and military spouses with a bachelor’s degree, and instruction is delivered through ABCTE plus structured on-the-job learning in a DEED-approved participating district. Candidates must hold a Student Teacher Authorization before starting the program or the district placement. It is a state-approved alternate route, not a waiver of Praxis, trainings, or fingerprinting.
Type M limited certificates solve a different problem than Program Enrollment. They authorize language and culture, military science, or career-technical instruction at district request and do not, by themselves, make the holder a general classroom teacher under 4 AAC 12.300. Career changers who want a regular elementary or secondary assignment still need Initial/Professional or Program Enrollment rather than assuming a Type M CTE card covers core content.
Required exams and fees
Alaska uses Approved basic competency examination (commonly Praxis Core) plus Praxis II or other approved content-area exams; Alaska Reads Act reading exams for K-3. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Core or other DEED-approved basic competency exam
- Passing score
- Reading 156 / Writing 162 / Math 150 (Praxis Core 5713/5723/5733)
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Approved content-area exam (waived for special education Program Enrollment with 9.0 SPED hours)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Alaska certification exams, Alaska DEED — District-Sponsored Certificates. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Program Enrollment extensions require a new District Request and Assurance Form, mandatory trainings, and fees. After program completion, move to Initial or Professional; do not treat a third year of Program Enrollment as a career credential.
Moving a license to Alaska
District-sponsored certificates are Alaska hire-and-enroll credentials, not reciprocity. Out-of-state teachers who already hold a regular certificate should use the Professional Out-of-State Teacher Certificate on DEED’s teaching-certificates page. Green to Teach approval is Alaska-specific; DEED tells candidates to verify other jurisdictions independently.
Official Alaska reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Alaska
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Alaska; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $125,520
- Employed
- 890
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $103,080
- Employed
- 80
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $79,260
- Employed
- 3,500
- Projected growth
- -5.2%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,940
- Employed
- 1,150
- Projected growth
- -5.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,650
- Employed
- 2,790
- Projected growth
- -5.3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Alaska, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Alaska
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Alaska subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Alaska preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is Alaska’s Initial Program Enrollment certificate?
It is a district-sponsored certificate for applicants enrolled in an approved teacher preparation program who have a bachelor’s degree, required exams (or nine special education hours for SPED enrollees), five years of subject-matter experience, mandatory trainings, fingerprints, and a district job offer. It is valid one year and extendable twice.
Who qualifies for Green to Teach?
Active-duty military members, veterans, and military spouses who hold a bachelor’s degree. Candidates complete ABCTE coursework, on-the-job learning in a participating Alaska district, exams, trainings, and background clearance, and must hold a Student Teacher Authorization before placement.
Is a Type M certificate the same as a teaching certificate?
No. DEED’s endorsement guidance states that classroom teachers must hold a valid Initial, Professional, or Master teacher certificate. Type M limited certificates cover specified language/culture, military science, or career-technical assignments requested by a district.
References
- Alaska DEED — District-Sponsored Certificates. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Confirm you need a district-sponsored pathway. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Convert to Initial or Professional after program completion. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Praxis Core or other DEED-approved basic competency exam. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Alaska Department of Education & Early Development — Teacher Education and Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.