How to Become a Teacher in Alaska

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Alaska Department of Education & Early Development — Teacher Education and CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

To become a teacher in Alaska, complete an approved preparation program, pass a DEED-approved basic competency exam (Praxis Core cuts: Reading 156, Writing 162, Math 150) and a content-area exam, finish four Mandatory Trainings, mail fingerprint cards to Juneau, and apply in TEACH-AK with the $200 Initial Teacher Certificate fee. New teachers receive a two- or three-year Initial certificate depending on whether Alaska studies and multicultural coursework are already done, then move to the five-year Professional Teacher Certificate after two years of experience.

  1. Finish an approved teacher preparation program and bachelor’s degree
    Applicants with fewer than two years of teaching experience apply for a…
  2. Pass an approved basic competency exam and content-area exam
    Alaska requires passing scores in reading, writing, and mathematics on…
  3. Complete mandatory trainings and mail fingerprint cards
    Complete the four Mandatory Trainings and upload at least one verificat…
  4. Apply in TEACH-AK and pay the $200 certificate fee
    Register once in the Educator Application & Certification Hub (TEACH-AK…

Key takeaways

  • To become a teacher in Alaska, complete an approved preparation program, pass a DEED-approved basic competency exam (Praxis Core cuts: Reading 156, Writing 162, Math 150) and a content-area exam, finish four Mandatory Trainings, mail fingerprint cards to Juneau, and apply in TEACH-AK with the $200 Initial Teacher Certificate fee. New teachers receive a two- or three-year Initial certificate depending on whether Alaska studies and multicultural coursework are already done, then move to the five-year Professional Teacher Certificate after two years of experience.
  • Finish an approved teacher preparation program and bachelor’s degree
  • Pass an approved basic competency exam and content-area exam
  • Complete mandatory trainings and mail fingerprint cards

Alaska certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Alaska Department of Education & Early Development — Teacher Education and Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Finish an approved teacher preparation program and bachelor’s degree

    Applicants with fewer than two years of teaching experience apply for an Initial Teacher Certificate. Submit official transcripts showing a bachelor’s degree from a regionally or nationally accredited institution and a State Approved Program Verification Form for Teachers (or a credential evaluation if the program was completed outside the United States).

    Source: education.alaska.gov

  2. Pass an approved basic competency exam and content-area exam

    Alaska requires passing scores in reading, writing, and mathematics on an approved basic competency examination. Praxis Core qualifying scores published by DEED are Reading (5713) 156, Writing (5723) 162, and Math (5733) 150; scores from listed exams may be combined across vendors. Content-area examinations are required for Initial, Professional, and Master teaching certificates.

    Source: education.alaska.gov

  3. Complete mandatory trainings and mail fingerprint cards

    Complete the four Mandatory Trainings and upload at least one verification document in TEACH-AK. Fingerprint cards are the only items DEED still accepts by mail—send them to Alaska Department of Education & Early Development, PO Box 110500, Juneau, AK 99811-0500. All other documents must be uploaded in TEACH-AK. The fingerprint processing fee is $60.

    Source: education.alaska.gov

  4. Apply in TEACH-AK and pay the $200 certificate fee

    Register once in the Educator Application & Certification Hub (TEACH-AK). DEED reviews applications in the order received; published processing time is 5–7 weeks. The Initial Teacher Certificate fee is $200 and is non-refundable. Your certificate’s effective date is the date the complete packet is received—DEED does not send expiration reminders.

    Source: education.alaska.gov

  5. Complete Alaska studies and multicultural coursework, then advance

    If those six semester hours are already done, DEED issues an Initial Three-Year certificate. If not, you receive an Initial Two-Year certificate that may be extended once, at no charge, for one year after you finish three semester hours of approved Alaska studies and three semester hours of approved Alaska multicultural coursework. The Initial 2/3-year certificate is not renewable; next apply for the five-year Professional Teacher Certificate (formerly Type A) after two years of experience.

    Source: education.alaska.gov

Alaska still talks about Type A in the field, but DEED’s current regular certificate is the Professional Teacher Certificate. The Initial 2/3-year credential is the on-ramp for anyone with fewer than two years of experience, including Alaska-prepared graduates. The Initial Five-Year certificate exists only for people who already held an Initial 2/3-year certificate and still lack the two years of experience needed for Professional—it is not a first-time option. Mixing those names up in TEACH-AK is a common reason an application is filed under the wrong type.

The six semester hours of Alaska studies and Alaska multicultural coursework are the state’s most distinctive academic gate. Newcomers may apply without them and teach on the two-year Initial, then use the free one-year extension once transcripts land. Those same courses can also satisfy the six-semester-hour recency requirement for the Professional certificate if they were completed in the previous five years. DEED publishes the approved course list; random Alaska-themed electives do not count.

Paper still matters in a digital system. TEACH-AK will not accept emailed transcripts or mailed packets except fingerprint cards sent to the Juneau PO Box. Processing is 5–7 weeks in the order received, and the effective date is the complete-packet date, not the hire date. Educators who assume DEED will email an expiration warning will lapse; the department says it does not notify individuals of impending expiration dates.

K-3 assignment adds a reading layer on top of ordinary content testing. The Alaska Reads Act K-3 Teacher endorsement is required to teach grades K-3, and DEED’s content-exam page lists specific Praxis Teaching Reading forms and Pearson Foundations of Reading (minimum 240) among accepted reading exams. A secondary-prepared teacher who later picks up a primary classroom cannot treat the original content Praxis as enough for that assignment.

Required exams and fees

Alaska uses Approved basic competency examination (commonly Praxis Core) plus Praxis II or other approved content-area exams; Alaska Reads Act reading exams for K-3. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Alaska certification exams, Alaska DEED — Teacher Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Advance from Initial to the Professional Teacher Certificate after two years of teaching while holding a valid certificate, plus Alaska studies (3 semester hours), Alaska multicultural (3 semester hours), six semester hours (or nine quarter hours) of credit in the prior five years, current exams, mandatory trainings, and fingerprints. Professional renewals are $200.

Certificate term
2 years
Initial Two-Year certificates may be extended once for one year after Alaska studies and multicultural coursework. Applicants who already completed that coursework receive an Initial Three-Year certificate. The Professional Teacher Certificate is valid for five years and is renewable. Initial 2/3-year certificates are not renewable.
Application fee
$200
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Alaska

Educators with a current, valid, regular out-of-state teacher certificate and two years of teaching under that certificate may apply for Alaska’s Professional Out-of-State Teacher Certificate. DEED defines a regular certificate as a renewable license that required a bachelor’s degree and an approved preparation program with student teaching—not a restricted, emergency, substitute, or temporary credential. The out-of-state certificate must still be valid when Alaska instructional service begins. The Professional Out-of-State certificate is valid for two years and may be extended once for three years after Alaska studies and multicultural coursework. Out-of-country teacher certificates are not accepted for this pathway.

Official Alaska reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Alaska

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Alaska; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $125,520
    Employed
    890
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $103,080
    Employed
    80
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $79,260
    Employed
    3,500
    Projected growth
    -5.2%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $78,940
    Employed
    1,150
    Projected growth
    -5.7%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $79,650
    Employed
    2,790
    Projected growth
    -5.3%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Alaska, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Alaska

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Alaska subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Special Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Alaska, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Alaska preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Alaska outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How much does an Alaska teacher certificate cost?

DEED’s fees page lists $200 for an Initial, Professional, or Master Teacher Certificate and $200 to renew. Fingerprint processing is $60 and is set by the Department of Public Safety and/or FBI. All certification fees are non-refundable.

What are Alaska’s Praxis Core passing scores?

DEED publishes Praxis Core qualifying scores of 156 in Reading (5713), 162 in Writing (5723), and 150 in Math (5733). Other listed basic competency exams may be combined to form a passing set.

Can I apply before finishing Alaska studies and multicultural courses?

Yes. If you have not finished those six semester hours, DEED issues an Initial or Provisional certificate and gives newcomers two years to complete the courses. Completing them before the first application yields an Initial Three-Year certificate instead of two.

Does Alaska accept my out-of-state license?

If you hold a current regular (renewable, program-based) out-of-state teacher certificate and have two years of teaching under it, apply for the Professional Out-of-State Teacher Certificate. Restricted, emergency, substitute, and temporary certificates do not qualify. Endorsements will mirror the certificate you submit.

References

  1. Alaska DEED — Teacher Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Finish an approved teacher preparation program and bachelor’s degree. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Pass an approved basic competency exam and content-area exam. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Apply in TEACH-AK and pay the $200 certificate fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Approved content-area examination (typically Praxis II). Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.