Alternative Teacher Certification in North Carolina

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the North Carolina Department of Public InstructionTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

North Carolina's Residency License alternative route requires employment, enrollment in an approved program, and Praxis plus Pearson FoR exams. The one-year Residency License is renewable twice while teaching. After program completion, candidates receive an IPL then advance to a CPL renewed with 8 CEUs (80 hours).

  1. Enroll in an approved alternative licensure program
    Gain admission to a North Carolina-approved alternative licensure progr…
  2. Pass required Praxis and Pearson FoR examinations
    Complete Praxis content and pedagogy tests and the Pearson Foundations…
  3. Apply for a Residency License
    Submit your application through the Online Licensure System for a one-y…
  4. Teach while completing the alternative program
    Serve as a classroom teacher while fulfilling coursework, mentoring, an…

Key takeaways

  • North Carolina's Residency License alternative route requires employment, enrollment in an approved program, and Praxis plus Pearson FoR exams. The one-year Residency License is renewable twice while teaching. After program completion, candidates receive an IPL then advance to a CPL renewed with 8 CEUs (80 hours).
  • Enroll in an approved alternative licensure program
  • Pass required Praxis and Pearson FoR examinations
  • Apply for a Residency License

North Carolina alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as North Carolina Department of Public Instruction publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Enroll in an approved alternative licensure program

    Gain admission to a North Carolina-approved alternative licensure program while securing employment with a school district. Both employment and program enrollment are mandatory for a Residency License. This coupling is tighter than some states apply to provisional credentials.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  2. Pass required Praxis and Pearson FoR examinations

    Complete Praxis content and pedagogy tests and the Pearson Foundations of Reading exam where required for your license area. Residency candidates take the same assessments as traditional route graduates in applicable areas. Schedule both vendors early in the residency period.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  3. Apply for a Residency License

    Submit your application through the Online Licensure System for a one-year Residency License, renewable up to two times while enrolled in your alternative program and employed. That is a maximum three-year window. Application fees typically range from $30 to $100.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  4. Teach while completing the alternative program

    Serve as a classroom teacher while fulfilling coursework, mentoring, and assessment requirements of your approved alternative licensure program. Falling out of employment or program enrollment risks losing authorization mid-pathway because the Residency License cannot be renewed indefinitely.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  5. Complete the program and advance to IPL then CPL

    Upon program completion, receive an Initial Professional License (IPL), then advance to a Continuing Professional License (CPL) after meeting induction requirements. Completers enter the same eight-CEU (80-hour) CPL renewal cycle as traditionally prepared peers.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

North Carolina's Residency License is the primary alternative route credential for candidates who are simultaneously employed by a school district and enrolled in an approved alternative licensure program. The license is issued for one year and may be renewed up to two times, creating a maximum three-year window to complete program requirements while teaching. Both employment and program enrollment are mandatory for issuance and renewal—a tighter coupling than some states apply to provisional credentials.

Residency License candidates must pass the same Praxis and Pearson Foundations of Reading examinations required of traditional route graduates in applicable license areas. Application fees through the Online Licensure System range from $30 to $100. Upon program completion, candidates transition to the Initial Professional License and subsequently the Continuing Professional License after induction, entering the same eight-CEU renewal cycle as traditionally prepared peers.

NCDPI's residency licensure guidance emphasizes coordination among the employing district, alternative program provider, and the educator to ensure renewals are filed before expiration. Because the Residency License cannot be renewed indefinitely, candidates who fall out of employment or program enrollment risk losing authorization mid-pathway. The mixed Praxis and Pearson FoR testing model means alternative candidates should schedule both vendors' exams early in their residency period.

Required exams and fees

North Carolina uses Praxis + Pearson FoR. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

North Carolina certification exams, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full North Carolina exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Residency License renewable twice while meeting employment and enrollment requirements; then advance to IPL and CPL per standard pathways.

Certificate term
1 years
Residency License valid for one year, renewable up to two times while employed and enrolled in an approved alternative program.
Application fee
$30–$100
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to North Carolina

The Residency License is for candidates employed and enrolled in North Carolina-approved alternative programs; out-of-state educators follow separate application and evaluation processes.

Official North Carolina reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in North Carolina

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for North Carolina; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $83,180
    Employed
    11,220
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $101,060
    Employed
    7,390
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $54,930
    Employed
    42,410
    Projected growth
    +1.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $52,010
    Employed
    20,650
    Projected growth
    +1.5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $57,650
    Employed
    28,620
    Projected growth
    +1.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, North Carolina, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in North Carolina

The U.S. Department of Education designates these North Carolina subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Special Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, North Carolina, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every North Carolina preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View North Carolina outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How long is the North Carolina Residency License valid?

The Residency License is valid for one year and may be renewed up to two times while the candidate remains employed and enrolled in an approved alternative program.

Can I get a Residency License without a job offer?

No. Candidates must be employed by a North Carolina school district and enrolled in an approved alternative licensure program to qualify.

What happens after completing an alternative licensure program?

Upon program completion, candidates receive an Initial Professional License (IPL), then advance to a Continuing Professional License (CPL) after meeting induction requirements.

References

  1. North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Pearson Foundations of Reading (FoR). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  4. North Carolina certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.