How to Become a Teacher in North Carolina

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the North Carolina Department of Public InstructionTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

To become a teacher in North Carolina, complete an approved preparation program, pass Praxis and Pearson Foundations of Reading exams where required, submit Form V, and apply through the Online Licensure System ($30–$100). You receive a three-year nonrenewable IPL, then advance to a CPL renewed with 8 CEUs (80 hours).

  1. Complete an approved educator preparation program
    Earn a bachelor's degree and complete a North Carolina-approved educato…
  2. Pass required Praxis and Pearson Foundations of Reading exams
    Take and pass the Praxis content and pedagogy tests required for your l…
  3. Submit Form V and apply through the Online Licensure System
    Work with your EPP to submit Form V (Program Completion Verification) a…
  4. Receive an Initial Professional License (IPL)
    NCDPI issues an Initial Professional License (IPL) valid for three year…

Key takeaways

  • To become a teacher in North Carolina, complete an approved preparation program, pass Praxis and Pearson Foundations of Reading exams where required, submit Form V, and apply through the Online Licensure System ($30–$100). You receive a three-year nonrenewable IPL, then advance to a CPL renewed with 8 CEUs (80 hours).
  • Complete an approved educator preparation program
  • Pass required Praxis and Pearson Foundations of Reading exams
  • Submit Form V and apply through the Online Licensure System

North Carolina certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as North Carolina Department of Public Instruction publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete an approved educator preparation program

    Earn a bachelor's degree and complete a North Carolina-approved educator preparation program (EPP) that includes student teaching. Traditional candidates then connect to NCDPI through Form V rather than a generic institutional letter. License areas span elementary, middle, secondary, and special education categories published in NCDPI forms and FAQs.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  2. Pass required Praxis and Pearson Foundations of Reading exams

    Take and pass the Praxis content and pedagogy tests required for your license area, and the Pearson Foundations of Reading (FoR) exam where applicable. FoR is a North Carolina-specific literacy assessment that distinguishes this testing profile from Praxis-only states. Verify both vendors for your license area before registering.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  3. Submit Form V and apply through the Online Licensure System

    Work with your EPP to submit Form V (Program Completion Verification) and complete your application through NCDPI's Online Licensure System. Form V is how program recommendation reaches the state. Application fees typically range from $30 to $100 depending on license type and processing path.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  4. Receive an Initial Professional License (IPL)

    NCDPI issues an Initial Professional License (IPL) valid for three years and nonrenewable. That window is the time to finish induction and performance requirements before the Continuing Professional License. The IPL is the entry credential, not a renewable career license.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

  5. Advance to a Continuing Professional License (CPL)

    After completing induction requirements during the IPL period, advance to a Continuing Professional License (CPL). CPL renewal requires eight CEUs, equivalent to 80 clock hours of approved professional development. Out-of-state educators may be asked for additional testing if Foundations of Reading or content exams cannot be waived.

    Source: dpi.nc.gov

North Carolina's licensure framework centers on the Initial Professional License (IPL) as the entry credential and the Continuing Professional License (CPL) as the long-term authorization. Traditional candidates complete approved educator preparation programs and must pass Praxis examinations aligned to their license area, supplemented in many cases by the Pearson Foundations of Reading (FoR) exam—a North Carolina-specific literacy assessment that distinguishes the state's testing profile from Praxis-only states.

Form V (Program Completion Verification) connects EPP accountability to NCDPI's Online Licensure System, ensuring that program graduates are formally recommended before IPL issuance. The IPL is valid for three years and is nonrenewable, which compels educators to complete induction and performance requirements within a defined window before advancing to the CPL. Application fees range from $30 to $100 depending on license type and processing path.

CPL renewal requires eight Continuing Education Units (CEUs), equivalent to 80 clock hours of approved professional development. NCDPI publishes forms and FAQs that document license codes, exam requirements, and renewal procedures across elementary, middle, secondary, and special education categories. Because North Carolina blends ETS Praxis with Pearson FoR, candidates should verify both testing vendors' requirements for their specific license area before registering.

Out-of-state educators apply through the Online Licensure System with credential evaluation that may trigger additional testing if Foundations of Reading or content exams cannot be waived. The IPL-to-CPL progression embeds North Carolina's commitment to supported early-career development while maintaining Praxis as the primary content testing backbone for most license areas.

Required exams and fees

North Carolina uses Praxis + Pearson FoR. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

North Carolina certification exams, North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full North Carolina exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Continuing Professional License (CPL) renewal requires 8 CEUs (80 clock hours) of approved professional development.

Certificate term
3 years
Initial Professional License (IPL) valid for three years and is nonrenewable.
PD required
80 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$30–$100
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to North Carolina

Out-of-state educators may apply for North Carolina licensure; NCDPI evaluates credentials and may require additional exams such as Pearson Foundations of Reading.

Official North Carolina reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in North Carolina

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for North Carolina; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $83,180
    Employed
    11,220
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $101,060
    Employed
    7,390
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $54,930
    Employed
    42,410
    Projected growth
    +1.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $52,010
    Employed
    20,650
    Projected growth
    +1.5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $57,650
    Employed
    28,620
    Projected growth
    +1.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, North Carolina, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in North Carolina

The U.S. Department of Education designates these North Carolina subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Special Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, North Carolina, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every North Carolina preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View North Carolina outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

What exams are required for North Carolina teacher licensure?

Candidates must pass Praxis exams for their license area and the Pearson Foundations of Reading (FoR) exam where applicable.

How long is the North Carolina Initial Professional License valid?

The Initial Professional License (IPL) is valid for three years and is nonrenewable.

How many CEUs are required to renew a CPL?

Continuing Professional License (CPL) renewal requires 8 CEUs, equivalent to 80 clock hours of approved professional development.

What are North Carolina licensure application fees?

Application fees through the Online Licensure System typically range from $30 to $100 depending on license type.

References

  1. North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Pearson Foundations of Reading (FoR). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.