How to Become a Teacher in Minnesota

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB)Title II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Minnesota’s professional classroom license is Tier 3: complete a PELSB-approved preparation program (Minnesota completers generally have no MTLE testing requirement), apply with fingerprints, and pay $89 for a first license or $57 if you already hold a Minnesota license. Tier 3 lasts three years and renews with 75 clock hours. After three years in the field, Tier 4 lasts five years and renews with 125 clock hours. Minnesota uses MTLE / NES exams, not Praxis, when tests are required.

  1. Complete a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program
    Earn at least a bachelor’s degree (or meet a statutory bachelor’s exemp…
  2. Understand MTLE testing rules for Minnesota completers
    PELSB’s testing information document states that Minnesota teacher-prep…
  3. Apply for a Tier 3 license (initial professional license)
    Submit the Tier 3 application with official transcripts and, for a firs…
  4. Teach on Tier 3 and complete renewal clock hours
    A Tier 3 license is valid for three years, expires June 30 of the expir…

Key takeaways

  • Minnesota’s professional classroom license is Tier 3: complete a PELSB-approved preparation program (Minnesota completers generally have no MTLE testing requirement), apply with fingerprints, and pay $89 for a first license or $57 if you already hold a Minnesota license. Tier 3 lasts three years and renews with 75 clock hours. After three years in the field, Tier 4 lasts five years and renews with 125 clock hours. Minnesota uses MTLE / NES exams, not Praxis, when tests are required.
  • Complete a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program
  • Understand MTLE testing rules for Minnesota completers
  • Apply for a Tier 3 license (initial professional license)

Minnesota certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program

    Earn at least a bachelor’s degree (or meet a statutory bachelor’s exemption) and finish a PELSB-approved teacher preparation program aligned to the licensure field, including field-specific student teaching. Minnesota program completers are recommended for a Tier 3 professional license.

    Source: mn.gov

  2. Understand MTLE testing rules for Minnesota completers

    PELSB’s testing information document states that Minnesota teacher-preparation and licensure-via-portfolio completers are not required to pass MTLE tests for Tier 3. Out-of-state completers may still need MTLE content and pedagogy exams unless they qualify for an out-of-state testing substitution. Pedagogy and content tests are Pearson NES / MTLE, not Praxis.

    Source: mn.gov

  3. Apply for a Tier 3 license (initial professional license)

    Submit the Tier 3 application with official transcripts and, for a first Minnesota license, a completed fingerprint card. PELSB’s 2026 Tier 3 application publishes an $89.00 fee for initial/first-time applicants (fingerprint included) and a $57.00 fee for existing Minnesota license holders.

    Source: mn.gov

  4. Teach on Tier 3 and complete renewal clock hours

    A Tier 3 license is valid for three years, expires June 30 of the expiration year, and may be renewed an unlimited number of times. Renewal requires 75 clock hours including current mandatory requirements.

    Source: mn.gov

  5. Advance to Tier 4 after three years of field experience

    Tier 4 requires a bachelor’s degree (or exemption), applicable exams or an exam exemption, at least three years of teaching experience in the licensure field, and an aligned preparation program or equivalent. Tier 4 is valid for five years and renews with 125 clock hours. The 2026 Tier 4 application uses the same $89 / $57 fee split.

    Source: mn.gov

Minnesota’s four-tier statute is the whole licensure story, not a marketing label. Tier 3 is the professional license after approved preparation and is what traditional graduates should target. Tier 4 is the experienced professional license after three years in the field. Tiers 1 and 2 are employment-tied permissions that are not transferable to another district or another state and are not “professional licenses” under Minnesota administrative rule. Talking about a generic “Minnesota teaching license” without naming the tier hides whether the educator can move districts.

Testing is the sharpest difference from Praxis-primary states. PELSB still administers Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations, historically the Pearson NES series used as MTLE. The October 2024 testing document is explicit: Minnesota preparation and portfolio completers need no MTLE for Tier 3; Tier 2 needs no testing for issuance; Tier 1 only requires an attempt (not a passing score) at content tests before the first renewal; Tier 4 adds no new tests. Out-of-state applicants are the group most likely to sit MTLE content and pedagogy. Passing scores are published on the MTLE site by field, not as one statewide cut. PELSB’s Tier 1 testing table lists $78.50 per typical content subtest.

First-license economics are printed on the 2026 application PDFs. Initial applicants who have never held PELSB licensure (or who have held only a Community Expert permission) submit a fingerprint card and pay $89.00. Existing Minnesota license holders pay $57.00 without a new card. Those figures appear on the Tier 1, Tier 3, and Tier 4 2026 POST applications. Renewal of an existing Tier 3, Tier 4, substitute, or administrative license is also listed at $57.00 on PELSB renewal forms.

Out-of-state evaluation is a menu, not a compact slogan. A candidate can reach Tier 3 with an aligned out-of-state program plus equivalent student teaching, or with a professional out-of-state license plus two years as teacher of record, or after three years of teaching on a Minnesota Tier 2 license. Testing substitutions exist when the other state required tests at the time of preparation and the applicant submits official score verification. PELSB’s approved-programs page states the Board does not review out-of-state providers; the burden is on the transcript and the student-teaching equivalency (often described as about 12 consecutive weeks).

Required exams and fees

Minnesota uses Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (MTLE) / Pearson NES series — PELSB, not Praxis-primary. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Minnesota certification exams, Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Full Minnesota exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Tier 3: 75 clock hours including current mandatory requirements. Tier 4: 125 clock hours including current mandatory requirements. Existing-license renewal applications list a $57.00 PELSB processing fee.

Certificate term
3 years
Tier 3 (the professional license after approved preparation) is valid for three years and is renewable indefinitely with 75 clock hours. Tier 4 is valid for five years after three years of field experience and renews with 125 clock hours. Both expire June 30 of the expiration year.
PD required
75 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$57–$89
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Minnesota

PELSB’s Tier 3 application and FY25 guidance allow a professional license through: a Minnesota-approved program; an out-of-state approved program with equivalent field-specific student teaching (or two years of aligned teaching) plus, in some cases, MTLE or the other state’s required tests; a professional license from another state in good standing plus two years as teacher of record in that field; three years of teaching on a Minnesota Tier 2 license; or licensure via portfolio. PELSB does not review teacher preparation programs outside Minnesota; out-of-state programs are evaluated against Minnesota’s student-teaching and testing rules.

Official Minnesota reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Minnesota

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Minnesota; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $127,000
    Employed
    4,120
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $104,740
    Employed
    2,110
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $76,350
    Employed
    26,640
    Projected growth
    +1.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $62,640
    Employed
    8,890
    Projected growth
    +1.5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $76,460
    Employed
    16,020
    Projected growth
    +1.5%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Minnesota, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Minnesota

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Minnesota subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Special Education — Autism Spectrum DisorderSpecial Education — Cognitive DisabilitiesSpecial Education — Emotional Disabilities

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Minnesota, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Minnesota preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Minnesota outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Does Minnesota use Praxis?

No. PELSB uses Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (MTLE), historically the Pearson NES series. Minnesota-approved program completers generally do not take MTLE for Tier 3. When tests are required, PELSB documents list $78.50 for typical MTLE content subtests.

How much is a first Minnesota teacher license?

PELSB’s 2026 Tier 3 and Tier 4 applications list $89.00 for initial/first-time applicants (includes fingerprint-card processing) and $57.00 for existing Minnesota license holders.

How long is a Tier 3 license valid?

Three years, expiring June 30 of the expiration year. It may be renewed an unlimited number of times with 75 clock hours, including current mandatory requirements.

When do I qualify for Tier 4?

After at least three years of teaching experience in the licensure field, a bachelor’s degree or exemption, applicable exams or an exemption, and an aligned preparation program (or equivalent path). Tier 4 is valid for five years and renews with 125 clock hours.

References

  1. Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Understand MTLE testing rules for Minnesota completers. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Advance to Tier 4 after three years of field experience. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. MTLE content and pedagogy exams — required for some out-of-state Tier 3 applicants; Minnesota program completers are typically exempt. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.