How to Become a Principal in Minnesota
What it takes to become a principal in Minnesota
Minnesota’s K–12 principal license requires three years of combined licensed experience as a teacher or as a school counselor, psychologist, social worker, or speech-language pathologist; 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s including a master’s; and a 320-hour field experience within 12 months. The board issues a two-year initial license, then a five-year continuing license after one school year of administrative work.
Sources: Minnesota Rules 3512.0200 — Education and experience requirements for superintendent, principal, and director of special education. As of 2026-10-26.
- Confirm the role needs a principal license
- Document three years of combined licensed school experience
- Complete 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s, including a master’s
- Finish a 320-hour field experience within 12 continuous months
Key takeaways
- Minnesota’s K–12 principal license requires three years of combined licensed experience as a teacher or as a school counselor, psychologist, social worker, or speech-language pathologist; 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s including a master’s; and a 320-hour field experience within 12 months. The board issues a two-year initial license, then a five-year continuing license after one school year of administrative work.
- Confirm the role needs a principal license
- Document three years of combined licensed school experience
- Complete 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s, including a master’s
Minnesota principal requirements, step by step
K–12 principal license (initial, then five-year continuing). Each requirement is stated as Minnesota Board of School Administrators (BOSA) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Confirm the role needs a principal license
A person who serves as or performs the duties of a principal must hold the license. Rule 3512.0300 also requires it when 50 percent or more of a person’s duties involve assisting with personnel administration, employee supervision, employee evaluation, and curriculum implementation.
Source: revisor.mn.gov
Document three years of combined licensed school experience
Show three years of combined experience as a licensed public school classroom teacher, a teacher in an accredited or state-recognized nonpublic or Bureau of Indian Education school, or a licensed school psychologist, school social worker, speech-language pathologist, or school counselor. Teaching may be in-person, hybrid, or online.
Complete 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s, including a master’s
Complete a specialist or doctoral program of at least 60 semester credits, or 60 semester credits beyond a bachelor’s degree that include a master’s degree, at a regionally accredited institution. A board-approved administrative licensure program counts as proof of the core competencies in rule 3512.0510.
Source: revisor.mn.gov
Finish a 320-hour field experience within 12 continuous months
Complete at least 320 hours as an administrative intern to a licensed, practicing principal across elementary, middle or junior high, and high schools, within 12 continuous months. At least 40 hours must be at each school level your primary teaching experience does not cover.
Receive the program’s recommendation and pass the background check
The board issues a two-year initial license to an applicant recommended by a board-approved program. Every applicant is subject to a criminal history background check under Minnesota Statutes section 122A.18, subdivision 8.
Source: revisor.mn.gov
Serve one school year to earn the five-year continuing license
After one school year of administrative or supervisory experience while holding the initial license, the board issues a five-year continuing license. Renewal requires 125 clock hours of approved administrative and supervisory continuing education in each five-year period.
Source: revisor.mn.gov
Minnesota principals are licensed by the Board of School Administrators under Minnesota Rules chapter 3512, not under the teacher licensing rules. The credit floor is higher than in most states. Rule 3512.0200 asks for a specialist or doctoral program of at least 60 semester credits, or 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s that include a master’s degree. A 30-to-36-credit master’s in educational leadership is not enough on its own; the rest of the 60 credits still has to be earned. Completing a board-approved administrative licensure program is the rule’s evidence that the candidate met the core competencies in part 3512.0510.
The experience rule is broader than a teaching-only clock. Rule 3512.0200 counts three years of combined experience as a licensed public school classroom teacher; a teacher in an accredited, state-recognized, or Bureau of Indian Education school; or a licensed school psychologist, school social worker, speech-language pathologist, or school counselor. In-person, hybrid, and online classrooms all count. Candidates without that experience follow rule 3512.0700 instead, which adds a one-school-year teaching internship of at least 1,050 hours (up to 250 of them online) on top of the 320-hour field experience. Chapter 3512 names no standalone statewide principal exam. Mastery is shown through the program’s exit evaluation, which the rule says may include objective examinations, portfolio reviews, and observations.
The field experience is specific: at least 320 hours as an administrative intern to a licensed, practicing principal, completed within 12 continuous months, spanning elementary, middle or junior high, and high school, with at least 40 hours at each level the candidate’s primary teaching experience did not cover. An interning candidate may not replace a principal employed at the participating school. Licenses run on a July 1 cycle: the initial license lasts two years, the continuing license five, and continuing-license renewal takes 125 approved clock hours per five-year period with no carryover. Minnesota’s row in the cross-state principal comparison shows how the 60-credit rule compares, and the M.Ed., EdS, and EdD guide covers why a specialist degree often fits Minnesota’s credit count.
Minnesota principal requirements at a glance
| Credential | K–12 principal license (initial, then five-year continuing) |
|---|---|
| Teaching / experience | Three years of combined licensed experience as a teacher or school counselor, psychologist, social worker, or speech-language pathologist |
| Exam | No separate statewide exam named in Minnesota Rules chapter 3512; program exit evaluation |
| Master's | 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor's including a master's, or a 60-credit specialist or doctoral program |
| Internship | 320 hours within 12 continuous months as an administrative intern to a licensed principal |
| Counselor / pupil services | Yes. Licensed school counselor years count toward the three years of combined experience. |
Required exams and fees
Minnesota uses a board-approved program’s exit evaluation; Minnesota Rules chapter 3512 names no separate statewide principal exam. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (rule text published June 25, 2020; as of October 2026).
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for K–12 principal license (initial, then five-year continuing). Verify approval with Minnesota Board of School Administrators (BOSA).
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Bethel University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Bethel University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Bethel University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Doctorate (research) |
| Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Doctorate (research) |
| Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Capella University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| Concordia University-Saint Paul (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Concordia University-Saint Paul (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Concordia University-Saint Paul (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Hamline University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Hamline University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Hamline University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Hamline University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Martin Luther College (New Ulm, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Metropolitan State University (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead (Moorhead, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead (Moorhead, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead (Moorhead, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mankato, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mankato, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mankato, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Saint Cloud State University (Saint Cloud, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Saint Cloud State University (Saint Cloud, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Saint Cloud State University (Saint Cloud, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota (Winona, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota (Winona, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota (Winona, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota (Winona, MN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota (Winona, MN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Southwest Minnesota State University (Marshall, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth (Duluth, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth (Duluth, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (professional) |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of St Thomas (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of St Thomas (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of St Thomas (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of St Thomas (Saint Paul, MN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Walden University (Minneapolis, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Winona State University (Winona, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Winona State University (Winona, MN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Renew the five-year continuing license with 125 clock hours of approved administrative and supervisory continuing education earned during the five years immediately before renewal. One semester college credit equals 20 clock hours; hours do not carry forward into the next five-year period.
Moving an administrator credential to Minnesota
Applicants prepared outside Minnesota qualify for an initial license when the program is at a regionally accredited institution, is recognized by its own state for principal licensure, is equivalent to 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s including a master’s, and covers the rule 3512.0510 competencies. One year of full-time experience as a principal or assistant principal in another state can substitute for the 320-hour field experience.
Salary and job outlook in Minnesota
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Minnesota; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $127,000
- Employed
- 4,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,740
- Employed
- 2,110
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $76,350
- Employed
- 26,640
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,640
- Employed
- 8,890
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $76,460
- Employed
- 16,020
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Minnesota, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Does a master’s degree qualify me for a Minnesota principal license?
Not by itself. Minnesota Rules 3512.0200 requires a specialist or doctoral program of at least 60 semester credits, or 60 semester credits beyond the bachelor’s degree that include a master’s, plus demonstrated competence in the rule 3512.0510 core areas.
Sources: Minnesota Rules 3512.0200 — Education and experience requirements for superintendent, principal, and director of special education. As of 2026-10-26.
Can a school counselor become a principal in Minnesota?
Yes. Rule 3512.0200 counts three years of combined experience that can include work as a licensed school counselor, school psychologist, school social worker, or speech-language pathologist, alongside licensed classroom teaching.
Sources: Minnesota Rules 3512.0200 — Education and experience requirements for superintendent, principal, and director of special education. As of 2026-10-26.
How many field experience hours does Minnesota require for principals?
At least 320 hours as an administrative intern to a licensed, practicing principal within 12 continuous months, across elementary, middle or junior high, and high schools, with at least 40 hours at each level not covered by your primary teaching experience.
Sources: Minnesota Rules 3512.0200 — Education and experience requirements for superintendent, principal, and director of special education; Minnesota Rules 3512.0400 — Program requirements. As of 2026-10-26.
Is there a principal licensure exam in Minnesota?
Minnesota Rules chapter 3512 does not name a separate statewide principal exam. Board-approved programs must require candidates to demonstrate mastery in an exit evaluation, which may include objective examinations, portfolio reviews, and observations.
Sources: Minnesota Rules 3512.0400 — Program requirements. As of 2026-10-26.
How do I renew a Minnesota continuing principal license?
Complete 125 clock hours of approved administrative and supervisory continuing education during the five years before renewal. One semester college credit equals 20 clock hours, and hours do not carry forward. Renewal applications are accepted after January 1 of the expiration year.
Sources: Minnesota Rules 3512.2300 — Continuing license; Minnesota Rules 3512.2000 — Requirements for issuance and renewal of licenses. As of 2026-10-26.
References
- Minnesota Rules 3512.0200 — Education and experience requirements for superintendent, principal, and director of special education. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Confirm the role needs a principal license. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Document three years of combined licensed school experience. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Finish a 320-hour field experience within 12 continuous months. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Receive the program’s recommendation and pass the background check. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Serve one school year to earn the five-year continuing license. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Minnesota Board of School Administrators (BOSA). Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.