How to Become a Teacher in Kansas
The short answer
Kansas traditional candidates complete a state-approved teacher preparation program, meet recency (eight credits or one year of teaching in the last six years), pass Praxis content tests for each endorsement plus the PLT, and apply through KLAS. First-time applicants submit fingerprints with a $57 KBI/FBI fee that must not be combined with the separate license application fee. Initial licenses are valid for two years.
- Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass Praxis content and PLT pedagogy assessments
- Submit fingerprints and the $57 KBI/FBI background fee
- Apply through the Kansas Licensure Application System (KLAS)
Key takeaways
- Kansas traditional candidates complete a state-approved teacher preparation program, meet recency (eight credits or one year of teaching in the last six years), pass Praxis content tests for each endorsement plus the PLT, and apply through KLAS. First-time applicants submit fingerprints with a $57 KBI/FBI fee that must not be combined with the separate license application fee. Initial licenses are valid for two years.
- Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass Praxis content and PLT pedagogy assessments
- Submit fingerprints and the $57 KBI/FBI background fee
Kansas certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Kansas State Department of Education — Teacher Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a state-approved teacher preparation program
Hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university and complete a state-approved teacher preparation program. Kansas also requires recency: at least eight credit hours or one year of accredited teaching experience within the last six years.
Source: ksde.gov
Pass Praxis content and PLT pedagogy assessments
Complete a content knowledge assessment in each endorsement or teaching subject for which you finished a preparation program, plus the Principles of Learning and Teaching pedagogy assessment. KSDE links the list of Kansas required assessments and cut scores through its Initial License Requirements page.
Source: ksde.gov
Submit fingerprints and the $57 KBI/FBI background fee
First Kansas licenses, renewals of expired licenses, and applicants who have never submitted fingerprints must send one fingerprint card and a $57 fee for KBI and FBI clearance. Do not combine the background fee with the license application fee.
Source: ksde.gov
Apply through the Kansas Licensure Application System (KLAS)
Register a username at the KSDE applications site, open KLAS, and submit the Initial Teaching License application used by Kansas graduates. Application processing fees are not refundable. Monitor status through Educator License Lookup.
Source: ksde.gov
Receive a two-year Initial teaching license
Kansas regulation 91-1-201 provides that each initial license is valid for two years from the date of issuance. Upgrade to a professional license through KLAS after meeting the Board’s published professional-level requirements.
Source: ksde.gov
Kansas publishes the fingerprint price and hides the license application amount. The License Application and Fingerprint Information pages are explicit that first licenses require a $57 KBI/FBI fee and that applicants must not combine that payment with the license application fee—which exists, is non-refundable, and is collected in KLAS, but is not stated as a dollar figure on the public Teacher Licensure pages reviewed in September 2026. This file therefore records only the $57 background fee as a sourced numeric fee.
Recency is easy to miss and commonly blocks otherwise-qualified applicants. In-state and out-of-state initial applicants must show at least eight credit hours or one year of accredited teaching experience completed within the last six years. A candidate who finished a program several years earlier and has not taught or returned to coursework can meet every other requirement and still be ineligible until recency is restored.
Testing is endorsement-specific, not a single battery. KSDE requires a content assessment in each endorsement or teaching subject completed in the preparation program, plus PLT pedagogy. Out-of-state applicants may use the content and pedagogy tests that were required to obtain the other state’s license when those tests are acceptable to Kansas. KSDE points to its required-assessments list and cut-score table rather than reprinting every passing score on the requirements narrative page.
Out-of-state options are a ladder, not automatic professional licensure. Depending on testing and employment, KSDE may issue a two-year exchange license, a one-year nonrenewable license if the applicant is hired, or a substitute license while tests remain unfinished. Applicants who already meet experience requirements can come in at the professional level. That structure rewards documented experience and completed testing more than it rewards simply holding any out-of-state certificate.
Required exams and fees
Kansas uses ETS Praxis content assessments and Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis content assessment — each endorsement area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Kansas certification exams, Kansas State Department of Education — Initial License Requirements. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew or upgrade through KLAS according to the license type. KSDE’s license application pages warn that processing fees are not refundable and that fingerprint clearance is required again if the most recent Kansas license has expired.
Moving a license to Kansas
Out-of-state applicants need a bachelor’s degree, a state-approved teacher preparation program, recency (eight credit hours or one year of accredited teaching within six years), and content and pedagogy tests—tests used to obtain the out-of-state license may be acceptable. KSDE may issue a two-year exchange license if applicable, a one-year nonrenewable license if the applicant is hired, or a substitute license until content and pedagogy tests are completed. Applicants who already meet experience requirements may enter at the professional license level.
Official Kansas reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Kansas
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Kansas; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $100,530
- Employed
- 2,520
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $110,020
- Employed
- 1,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $56,450
- Employed
- 14,350
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,580
- Employed
- 6,230
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,920
- Employed
- 10,860
- Projected growth
- -0.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Kansas, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Kansas
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Kansas subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Kansas preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What Kansas licensure fee is published on KSDE pages?
KSDE publishes a $57 fingerprint / KBI and FBI background clearance fee for first licenses, expired-license renewals, and applicants who have never been fingerprinted for a Kansas license. The separate license application fee is collected in KLAS and is not listed as a dollar amount on the public application pages reviewed here.
How long is a Kansas initial teaching license valid?
Kansas Administrative Regulation 91-1-201 states that each initial license is valid for two years from the date of issuance.
What tests does Kansas require?
Initial applicants must complete a content knowledge assessment in each endorsement area they were prepared to teach and the Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) pedagogy assessment. KSDE links the required assessments and cut scores from the Initial License Requirements page.
What is Kansas recency?
Recency means the applicant has at least eight credit hours or one year of accredited teaching experience completed within the last six years.
References
- Kansas State Department of Education — Initial License Requirements. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Submit fingerprints and the $57 KBI/FBI background fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply through the Kansas Licensure Application System (KLAS). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kansas State Department of Education — Teacher Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kansas certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.