How to Become a Principal in Washington
The short answer
Washington’s first principal credential is the Residency Principal Certificate. WAC 181-79A-211 requires a master’s or higher, an approved principal-preparation program, three years of documented school-based instructional experience with students (building or central-office administrative experience does not count), and a valid teacher or ESA certificate—not an emergency type under 181-79A-231. Professional status needs three school years full-time as principal or assistant principal plus 150 continuing education credit hours. Apply through eds.wa.gov.
- Hold a master’s degree or higher
- Complete an approved principal-preparation program
- Document three years of school-based instructional experience with students
- Hold or have held a valid teacher or ESA certificate
Key takeaways
- Washington’s first principal credential is the Residency Principal Certificate. WAC 181-79A-211 requires a master’s or higher, an approved principal-preparation program, three years of documented school-based instructional experience with students (building or central-office administrative experience does not count), and a valid teacher or ESA certificate—not an emergency type under 181-79A-231. Professional status needs three school years full-time as principal or assistant principal plus 150 continuing education credit hours. Apply through eds.wa.gov.
- Hold a master’s degree or higher
- Complete an approved principal-preparation program
- Document three years of school-based instructional experience with students
Washington principal requirements, step by step
Residency Principal Certificate. Each requirement is stated as Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a master’s degree or higher
Earn a master’s or higher degree. WAC 181-79A-211 pairs the degree with an approved principal-preparation program; the degree alone does not create a Residency Principal Certificate.
Source: app.leg.wa.gov
Complete an approved principal-preparation program
Finish a Washington-approved principal-preparation program. Program completion and the degree requirement are separate elements of WAC 181-79A-211.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Document three years of school-based instructional experience with students
Verify three years of documented school-based experience in an instructional role with students. Building or central-office administrative experience does not count toward this three-year requirement.
Source: app.leg.wa.gov
Hold or have held a valid teacher or ESA certificate
Hold or have held a valid teacher certificate or educational staff associate certificate. Emergency certificate types issued under WAC 181-79A-231 do not satisfy this requirement.
Source: app.leg.wa.gov
Apply for the Residency Principal Certificate through E-Certification
Submit the first-time principal application in E-Certification at eds.wa.gov after the approved program posts its recommendation.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Advance to Professional with three school years and 150 continuing education hours
The Professional Principal Certificate requires three school years of full-time service as a principal or assistant principal plus 150 continuing education credit hours. Out-of-state applicants may use an approved program or three years of full-time out-of-state administrative experience plus an out-of-state administrative certificate.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Washington’s experience rule is the one that most often shocks career-changers already sitting in an assistant-principal chair. WAC 181-79A-211 requires three years of documented school-based experience in an instructional role with students. The same regulation states that building or central-office administrative experience does not count. Time as an intern principal, dean, or district coordinator cannot be substituted for those instructional years. Teachers who moved into administration after two years in the classroom will still owe a third instructional year before the Residency Principal Certificate can issue, regardless of how long they have already been evaluating other teachers.
The certificate underneath those years must be a valid teacher or educational staff associate certificate, or a previously held valid certificate of those types. Emergency certificates issued under WAC 181-79A-231 are carved out. Candidates who taught on an emergency certificate and later earned a Residency teacher certificate should count only the years that sat under a qualifying certificate type. A master’s degree and an approved principal-preparation program remain mandatory; OSPI’s first-time principal page and the WAC text treat them as independent requirements.
OSPI does not name a required principal examination on the first-time certification page used for this bundle. Do not import a cut score or vendor test from another state. Confirm with the approved program and OSPI whether any assessment is attached to the current cohort. Application is an E-Certification transaction at eds.wa.gov, not a paper filing to the school district’s personnel office.
The Professional Principal Certificate is a service-and-hours advancement, not an automatic upgrade. It requires three school years of full-time work as a principal or assistant principal—not three more years of teaching—plus 150 continuing education credit hours. Out-of-state applicants have a defined door: an approved program, or three years of full-time out-of-state administrative experience plus an out-of-state administrative certificate. That out-of-state administrative experience is for the OOS route; it does not rewrite the in-state rule that administrative years cannot replace the three instructional years for a first Washington residency certificate.
Required exams and fees
Washington uses Confirm with OSPI / approved program. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Residency Principal Certificate. Verify approval with Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB).
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Central Washington University (Ellensburg, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Central Washington University (Ellensburg, WA) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| City University of Seattle (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| City University of Seattle (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| City University of Seattle (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Eastern Washington University (Cheney, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Faith International University (Tacoma, WA) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Doctorate (research) |
| Gonzaga University (Spokane, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (professional) |
| Gonzaga University (Spokane, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Gonzaga University (Spokane, WA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Heritage University (Toppenish, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Pacific Lutheran University (Tacoma, WA) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Doctorate (professional) |
| Saint Martin's University (Lacey, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Saint Martin's University (Lacey, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Seattle Pacific University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Seattle Pacific University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Seattle Pacific University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (professional) |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Doctorate (professional) |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (professional) |
| Seattle University (Seattle, WA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Washington-Bothell Campus (Bothell, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (other) |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus (Seattle, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus (Seattle, WA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| University of Washington-Tacoma Campus (Tacoma, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Walla Walla University (College Place, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Washington State University (Pullman, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Washington State University (Pullman, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Western Washington University (Bellingham, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Western Washington University (Bellingham, WA) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Western Washington University (Bellingham, WA) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Western Washington University (Bellingham, WA) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Western Washington University (Bellingham, WA) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Doctorate (research) |
| Whitworth University (Spokane, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Whitworth University (Spokane, WA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Whitworth University (Spokane, WA) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Advance to the Professional Principal Certificate with three school years of full-time principal or assistant principal service and 150 continuing education credit hours. Confirm current E-Certification renewal instructions for each certificate stage.
Moving an administrator credential to Washington
Out-of-state candidates may qualify with an approved program or with three years of full-time out-of-state administrative experience plus an out-of-state administrative certificate, as described on OSPI’s principal or program administrator first-time certification page.
Salary and job outlook in Washington
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Washington; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $166,590
- Employed
- 6,470
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $127,630
- Employed
- 2,140
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $102,350
- Employed
- 28,980
- Projected growth
- +8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $102,140
- Employed
- 10,510
- Projected growth
- +8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $102,670
- Employed
- 14,880
- Projected growth
- +8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Washington, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Does Washington count assistant-principal years toward the Residency Principal Certificate?
No. WAC 181-79A-211 requires three years of documented school-based experience in an instructional role with students. Building or central-office administrative experience does not count.
Can an emergency teacher certificate support a Washington principal application?
No. Candidates must hold or have held a valid teacher or ESA certificate. Emergency types under WAC 181-79A-231 do not satisfy that requirement.
How do I move from a Residency to a Professional Principal Certificate in Washington?
Complete three school years of full-time service as a principal or assistant principal and 150 continuing education credit hours, then apply through E-Certification.
How can an out-of-state administrator qualify in Washington?
OSPI allows an approved program or three years of full-time out-of-state administrative experience plus an out-of-state administrative certificate. Apply through eds.wa.gov.
References
- Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction — Principal or Program Administrator First-Time Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Hold a master’s degree or higher. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Washington credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.