How to Become a Principal in Louisiana
What it takes to become a principal in Louisiana
Louisiana principals and assistant principals need Educational Leader Level 1 (EDL1) certification. The graduate degree pathway requires a Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate with three years of teaching (or an Ancillary certificate with five), a competency-based graduate degree in educational leadership, and a passing Praxis SLLA score. EDL1 lasts three years and advances to EDL2 after three effective years.
Sources: Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
- Hold a Louisiana Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate and three years of teaching
- Complete a competency-based graduate degree in educational leadership
- Pass the Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)
- Request EDL1 eligibility in the Louisiana Educator Portal
Key takeaways
- Louisiana principals and assistant principals need Educational Leader Level 1 (EDL1) certification. The graduate degree pathway requires a Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate with three years of teaching (or an Ancillary certificate with five), a competency-based graduate degree in educational leadership, and a passing Praxis SLLA score. EDL1 lasts three years and advances to EDL2 after three effective years.
- Hold a Louisiana Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate and three years of teaching
- Complete a competency-based graduate degree in educational leadership
- Pass the Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)
Louisiana principal requirements, step by step
Educational Leader Level 1 (EDL1), advancing to Level 2 (EDL2). Each requirement is stated as Louisiana Department of Education — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a Louisiana Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate and three years of teaching
Hold or be eligible to hold a Louisiana Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate, or a comparable-level out-of-state certificate, plus three years of teaching experience. An Ancillary Teaching certificate holder needs at least five years of successful teaching experience instead.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Complete a competency-based graduate degree in educational leadership
Complete a competency-based graduate degree program in educational leadership from an institution accredited under 34 CFR 602. If the transcript does not name the degree “Educational Leadership,” submit a dean’s letter verifying alignment with the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders (PSEL).
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Pass the Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)
The EDL1 pathway checklists require a passing score on the Praxis SLLA. The Louisiana Leadership Assessment Series is accepted only if it was completed before Bloomboard retired it.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Request EDL1 eligibility in the Louisiana Educator Portal
Meeting the requirements produces an EDL1 letter of eligibility. The certificate itself is issued when a Louisiana school system requests it after verifying employment in an educational leader role. Your teaching certificate must be valid unless you are already employed as a leader and the system signs the request.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Advance to EDL2 after three effective years in leadership
An EDL1 is valid for three years and can be extended one year at a time at the school system’s request, up to two extensions. Advancement to EDL2 requires at least three years employed in a leadership capacity and three years meeting the standards of effectiveness under Bulletin 746 §103.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Louisiana licenses school leaders through one credential family, Educational Leader (EDL), used for assistant principals, principals, parish or city supervisors of instruction, supervisors of child welfare and attendance, special education supervisors, and comparable school or district leader positions. Meeting the EDL1 requirements does not by itself produce a certificate. LDOE issues a letter of eligibility, and the EDL1 certificate is issued when an employing Louisiana school system verifies employment in an educational leader capacity and requests it. Candidates finishing a program before they have a leadership job should expect to hold eligibility, not a certificate.
The teaching prerequisite has two forms. The standard form is holding, or being eligible to hold, a Louisiana Type B or Level 2 teaching certificate (or a comparable-level out-of-state certificate, which needs additional documentation) with three years of teaching. The alternative form is an Ancillary Teaching certificate with at least five years of successful teaching. The graduate degree pathway then requires a competency-based graduate degree in educational leadership from an institution accredited under 34 CFR 602; a degree not titled “Educational Leadership” on the transcript needs a dean’s letter confirming alignment to the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders. Each EDL1 checklist cited here ends with a passing Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment score. The older Louisiana Leadership Assessment Series counts only if it was completed before Bloomboard retired it.
LDOE also publishes alternate pathways beside the degree route. Two of them carry the same teaching prerequisite and the SLLA. Alternate Pathway 1 is for candidates who already hold a graduate degree: an accredited institution screens their competencies and prescribes an individualized educational leadership program, then verifies completion by letter. Alternate Pathway 3 is a competency-based practitioner or residency program from a Louisiana-approved provider, entered through a screening of the candidate’s knowledge of instruction. EDL1 lasts three years, with up to two one-year extensions at a school system’s request, and advances to EDL2 after three years in a leadership role meeting the Bulletin 746 §103 effectiveness standards. Louisiana’s row in the cross-state principal comparison shows how the eligibility-then-employment sequence differs from other states.
Louisiana principal requirements at a glance
| Credential | Educational Leader Level 1 (EDL1), advancing to Level 2 (EDL2) |
|---|---|
| Teaching / experience | Three years of teaching with a Type B or Level 2 certificate, or five years with an Ancillary certificate |
| Exam | Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA) |
| Master's | Graduate degree in educational leadership on the degree pathway; alternate pathways accept another graduate degree or a practitioner program |
| Internship | Not stated on this checklist |
| Counselor / pupil services | Not stated on this checklist |
Required exams and fees
Louisiana uses the Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (checklists revised December 2025 per Bulletin 746; as of October 2026).
- Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Louisiana principal / administrator exams — Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025). Reporting period: checklists revised December 2025 per Bulletin 746; as of October 2026. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Educational Leader Level 1 (EDL1), advancing to Level 2 (EDL2). Verify approval with Louisiana Department of Education — Educator Certification.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Grambling State University (Grambling, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Louisiana Christian University (Pineville, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College (Baton Rouge, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College (Baton Rouge, LA) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Louisiana State University-Shreveport (Shreveport, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Louisiana Tech University (Ruston, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Louisiana Tech University (Ruston, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Louisiana Tech University (Ruston, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Nicholls State University (Thibodaux, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Nicholls State University (Thibodaux, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana (Natchitoches, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana (Natchitoches, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Southeastern Louisiana University (Hammond, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Southeastern Louisiana University (Hammond, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Southern University and A & M College (Baton Rouge, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Tulane University of Louisiana (New Orleans, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Holy Cross (New Orleans, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette (Lafayette, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette (Lafayette, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe (Monroe, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe (Monroe, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of New Orleans (New Orleans, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of New Orleans (New Orleans, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Xavier University of Louisiana (New Orleans, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Xavier University of Louisiana (New Orleans, LA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
Renewal and professional development
EDL1 is not renewed in the ordinary sense. It is extended (up to two one-year extensions) or advanced to EDL2 after at least three years in a leadership role and three years meeting the standards of effectiveness under Bulletin 746 §103.
Moving an administrator credential to Louisiana
A comparable-level out-of-state teaching certificate with three years of teaching can satisfy the EDL1 teaching requirement, but LDOE requires additional documentation to verify comparability. Use the LDOE Teacher Certification Help Center before applying if you are not currently certified in Louisiana.
Salary and job outlook in Louisiana
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Louisiana; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $83,360
- Employed
- 5,080
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $98,840
- Employed
- 3,670
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $58,770
- Employed
- 22,060
- Projected growth
- -1.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $58,760
- Employed
- 5,560
- Projected growth
- -1.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,850
- Employed
- 15,210
- Projected growth
- -1%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Louisiana, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
What certificate do Louisiana principals need?
Educational Leader (EDL) certification, starting with Educational Leader Level 1 (EDL1). LDOE lists it as the certificate needed for assistant principals, principals, parish or city supervisors of instruction, and comparable school or district leader positions.
Sources: Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
Which exam does Louisiana require for educational leader certification?
The Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA). The Louisiana Leadership Assessment Series is accepted in its place only if it was completed before Bloomboard retired it.
Sources: Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025); Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Alternate Pathway 1, Individualized Program checklist (revised December 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
How long is a Louisiana EDL1 certificate valid?
Three years initially. A Louisiana school system can request one-year extensions, limited to two. Advancing to EDL2 requires at least three years in a leadership capacity and three years meeting the Bulletin 746 §103 standards of effectiveness.
Sources: Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
Can I get Louisiana EDL1 without a master’s in educational leadership?
Yes, through an alternate pathway. Alternate Pathway 1 accepts any graduate degree from an accredited institution plus an individualized educational leadership program based on a competency screening. Alternate Pathway 3 is a practitioner or residency program from a Louisiana-approved provider. Both require the teaching prerequisite and the Praxis SLLA.
Sources: Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Alternate Pathway 1, Individualized Program checklist (revised December 2025); Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Alternate Pathway 3, Practitioner Leader checklist (revised December 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
Do I receive the EDL1 certificate as soon as I finish my program?
No. Meeting the requirements produces an EDL1 letter of eligibility. The certificate is issued when an employing Louisiana school system verifies your employment in an educational leader role and requests it.
Sources: Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
References
- Louisiana Department of Education — EDL1 Certificate: Graduate Degree Pathway checklist (revised December 2025). Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Louisiana Department of Education — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Louisiana credential portal. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.