How to Become a Teacher in Rhode Island

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Rhode Island Department of Education (RIDE) — Office of Educator Excellence and Certification ServicesTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Rhode Island teachers complete a RIDE-approved preparation program, pass Praxis or ACTFL assessments for the certificate area, and apply through My eCert. The first full credential is a three-year Initial Educator Certificate ($100 for the first area). After 90 Professional Learning Units in a publicly funded setting, educators convert to a five-year Professional certificate ($200 for the first area). Advanced seven-year certificates follow an aspirational benchmark plus required PLUs.

  1. Complete a Rhode Island-approved educator preparation program
    Enroll in and finish an in-state educator preparation program in the ce…
  2. Pass required Rhode Island certification assessments
    Regulations require passing the appropriate ETS Praxis or ACTFL tests f…
  3. Apply through My eCert on the RIDE portal
    Submit your application, transcripts, and official test reports through…
  4. Receive an Initial Educator Certificate (3 years)
    The first full certificate is the three-year Initial Educator Certifica…

Key takeaways

  • Rhode Island teachers complete a RIDE-approved preparation program, pass Praxis or ACTFL assessments for the certificate area, and apply through My eCert. The first full credential is a three-year Initial Educator Certificate ($100 for the first area). After 90 Professional Learning Units in a publicly funded setting, educators convert to a five-year Professional certificate ($200 for the first area). Advanced seven-year certificates follow an aspirational benchmark plus required PLUs.
  • Complete a Rhode Island-approved educator preparation program
  • Pass required Rhode Island certification assessments
  • Apply through My eCert on the RIDE portal

Rhode Island certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Rhode Island Department of Education (RIDE) — Office of Educator Excellence and Certification Services publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a Rhode Island-approved educator preparation program

    Enroll in and finish an in-state educator preparation program in the certificate area you seek. RIDE lists approved programs by Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle Grades, Secondary, All Grades, Support Professional, and Administrator areas on its How to Get Certified page. The institution recommends you for certification after you complete the program.

    Source: ride.ri.gov

  2. Pass required Rhode Island certification assessments

    Regulations require passing the appropriate ETS Praxis or ACTFL tests for your certificate area. Applicants prepared in a program where the language of instruction was not English must also demonstrate English language proficiency (TOEFL iBT minimum 79 or ACTFL TEP Advanced Low). RIDE publishes required tests and passing scores and notes that Praxis Bridge is available for eligible Praxis tests taken on or after November 1, 2025.

    Source: ride.ri.gov

  3. Apply through My eCert on the RIDE portal

    Submit your application, transcripts, and official test reports through My eCert. As of September 2026, RIDE reports application processing times of 8–10 weeks. Certification regulations approved April 30, 2025, took effect June 4, 2025, unless a later date is noted in the rule.

    Source: ride.ri.gov

  4. Receive an Initial Educator Certificate (3 years)

    The first full certificate is the three-year Initial Educator Certificate. After completing the required Professional Learning Units while employed in a Rhode Island publicly funded educational setting, convert to a five-year Professional Educator Certificate.

    Source: ride.ri.gov

  5. Progress to Professional (5-year) or Advanced (7-year) and renew with PLUs

    Progressing from Initial to Professional requires the equivalent of 30 PLUs annually, or 90 PLUs total. Professional certificates phase toward 100 PLUs by 2030. Educators who hold a Professional certificate and complete an aspirational benchmark plus the required PLUs may progress to an Advanced seven-year certificate.

    Source: ride.ri.gov

Rhode Island’s three-tier full-certificate ladder—Initial (three years), Professional (five years), and Advanced (seven years)—is now tightly coupled to Professional Learning Units rather than a simple clock-hour renewal. The 2025 certification regulations, approved by the Council on Elementary and Secondary Education on April 30, 2025, and effective June 4, 2025, keep that ladder in place while publishing a non-refundable fee table: $100 for the first Initial area and $50 for each additional area; $200 for the first Professional or Advanced area and $100 for each additional area. Educators comparing Rhode Island with neighboring New England states should budget both the first-issuance fee and the higher Professional renewal fee, because progressing off the Initial certificate is a paid conversion, not an automatic upgrade.

PLU accounting is district-mediated for public-school employees. RIDE does not approve individual units in advance; districts acknowledge that the educator met the PLU requirement before My eCert renewal proceeds. The Initial-to-Professional gate is 90 units (30 per year). Professional certificates that expire in 2026 already require 100 units, and the statewide Professional target is 100 units by 2030, with a prorated schedule for educators who already held Professional or Advanced certificates as of December 31, 2019. That phase-in means two colleagues with the same certificate type can have different unit totals depending on when the certificate was first issued.

Assessment policy is Praxis-primary but not Praxis-only. World-language certificates use ACTFL proficiency tests, some CTE areas use NOCTI, and candidates from non-English-medium programs must meet a TOEFL iBT 79 or ACTFL TEP Advanced Low English-language standard. Praxis Bridge, available for eligible tests taken on or after November 1, 2025, lets candidates who score within one standard error of measurement of the cut complete a targeted module instead of a full retake. Experienced Rhode Island-certified teachers with four years of successful public-school teaching may add some additional certificates by passing current content assessments, but they cannot test into Special Education, ESOL, CTE, support professional, or administrator areas.

Reciprocity is certificate-to-certificate rather than a blanket compact claim. Out-of-state holders must present a valid, full certificate that maps to a Rhode Island grade range and content area; preliminary or temporary credentials do not qualify. RIDE’s inter-state flexibility list waives Rhode Island tests and experience requirements for educators from 24 named jurisdictions, but dependent-certificate rules still apply. Applicants who meet every reciprocity requirement except testing may receive a one-year, nonrenewable Temporary Initial certificate while they sit for Rhode Island assessments.

Required exams and fees

Rhode Island uses ETS Praxis content assessments and ACTFL language proficiency tests (NOCTI for some CTE areas). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Rhode Island certification exams, RIDE — Educator Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Progress from Initial to Professional with 90 Professional Learning Units (30 annually). Professional certificates phase to 100 PLUs by 2030. Employed public-school educators submit PLU evidence to their districts; renew Initial, Professional, or Advanced certificates in My eCert.

Certificate term
3 years
Initial Educator Certificates are valid for three years. Professional Educator Certificates are valid for five years. Advanced Educator Certificates are valid for seven years.
PD required
90 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$100–$200
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Rhode Island

RIDE offers reciprocity for completers of a state-approved out-of-state preparation program that leads to a comparable Rhode Island certificate and for holders of a valid, current, full out-of-state certificate aligned to a Rhode Island grade range and content area. Temporary or preliminary out-of-state certificates are not accepted. Educators from 24 listed inter-state flexibility jurisdictions are exempt from Rhode Island-required tests and experience requirements, except where Rhode Island requires an independent certificate before a dependent certificate. A one-year Temporary Initial certificate may be issued while reciprocity applicants complete Rhode Island testing. Military servicemembers and spouses may use Servicemembers Civil Relief Act license portability when statutory criteria are met.

Official Rhode Island reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Rhode Island

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Rhode Island; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $119,980
    Employed
    1,160
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $106,520
    Employed
    1,140
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $90,930
    Employed
    3,830
    Projected growth
    -1.5%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $92,760
    Employed
    2,370
    Projected growth
    -1.4%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $92,610
    Employed
    4,910
    Projected growth
    -1%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Rhode Island, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Rhode Island

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Rhode Island subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Art and Music EducationEnglish as a Second LanguageHealth and Physical FitnessSpecial EducationWorld Languages

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Rhode Island, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Rhode Island preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Rhode Island outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Rhode Island educator certificate cost?

The 2025 certification regulations list $100 for the first Initial Educator Certificate area and $50 for each additional area, and $200 for the first Professional or Advanced area and $100 for each additional area. All application fees are non-refundable.

How long is a Rhode Island teaching certificate valid?

The Initial Educator Certificate is valid for three years, the Professional Educator Certificate for five years, and the Advanced Educator Certificate for seven years.

What are Professional Learning Units?

PLUs are Rhode Island’s professional-learning measure for certificate renewal. Moving from Initial to Professional requires 90 PLUs. Professional certificates phase to 100 PLUs by 2030. Public-school educators submit evidence to their districts.

Does Rhode Island accept my out-of-state teaching certificate?

Yes, if you hold a valid, current, full out-of-state certificate aligned to a comparable Rhode Island area, or you completed a state-approved program that leads to a comparable Rhode Island certificate. Temporary or preliminary out-of-state certificates are not accepted. A one-year Temporary Initial certificate may cover remaining Rhode Island testing.

References

  1. RIDE — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete a Rhode Island-approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Pass required Rhode Island certification assessments. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Receive an Initial Educator Certificate (3 years). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Rhode Island Department of Education (RIDE) — Office of Educator Excellence and Certification Services. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.