How to Become a Teacher in Delaware
The short answer
To become a teacher in Delaware, you need both a license and a Standard Certificate. Complete an approved preparation program with student teaching, pass Praxis II for the certificate area (send scores to R7065), and apply in DEEDS via EdAccess. The first Delaware license costs $100 (reimbursed after public or charter employment). New educators receive a four-year non-renewable Initial License and, after mentoring and DPAS-II requirements, a five-year Continuing License.
- Understand the license-plus-certificate model
- Complete an approved preparation program and Praxis II
- Apply in DEEDS through EdAccess
- Pay the one-time $100 first-license fee
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Delaware, you need both a license and a Standard Certificate. Complete an approved preparation program with student teaching, pass Praxis II for the certificate area (send scores to R7065), and apply in DEEDS via EdAccess. The first Delaware license costs $100 (reimbursed after public or charter employment). New educators receive a four-year non-renewable Initial License and, after mentoring and DPAS-II requirements, a five-year Continuing License.
- Understand the license-plus-certificate model
- Complete an approved preparation program and Praxis II
- Apply in DEEDS through EdAccess
Delaware certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Delaware Department of Education — Licensure and Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Understand the license-plus-certificate model
Delaware requires both a license (permission to practice) and at least one certificate (what you may teach). You hold only one license at a time. Apply for an Initial License if you are new or have less than four years of licensed teaching experience; a Continuing License if you have four or more years; or an Advanced License if you hold National Board certification.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Complete an approved preparation program and Praxis II
A Standard Certificate requires a passing Praxis II score in the content area (or coursework if no Praxis II exists) and completion of an approved educator preparation program that includes student teaching—or completion of a Delaware-approved Alternative Routes to Certification program. Send Praxis/ACTFL scores to Delaware using ETS reporting code R7065.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Apply in DEEDS through EdAccess
K-12 licensure applications are filed in the Delaware Educator Data System (DEEDS 3.0). Create or use an EdAccess account (eLearning account type for public applicants) unless your district already provisions access through ClassLink. Upload official transcripts, test scores, proof of student teaching if it is not on the transcript, and any out-of-state credential.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Pay the one-time $100 first-license fee
Beginning January 15, 2016, a one-time non-refundable $100 fee is charged for an educator’s first Delaware license (Initial, Continuing, or Advanced) under 14 Del. C. § 122(27). DDOE keeps the fee whether or not a license is issued. After you are employed in a Delaware public district or charter school and fully licensed and certified, DDOE reimburses the $100 from DEEDS hire data.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Complete mentoring and move from Initial to Continuing
An Initial License is valid for four years (up to six for trade and industry teachers), is not renewable, and is typically issued to educators with fewer than three years of full-time experience. At the end of initial licensure, a Continuing License (five years, renewable) requires successful mentoring and other prescribed professional development plus no more than one unsatisfactory DPAS-II annual evaluation during the Initial period.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Delaware’s split vocabulary trips up applicants from single-document states. The license answers “may this person work?” The certificate answers “in which field?” A clean Initial License with no Standard Certificate is not enough to be teacher of record in a content area. Adding a second certificate later is a separate DEEDS transaction and does not require another $100 if you already paid for the first license.
The $100 fee is statutory and non-refundable at the point of application, then reimbursable after you appear on a public district or charter hire list. DDOE pulls that list from DEEDS twice a year and mails a check to the home address on file. Private-school employment does not trigger the reimbursement language on the fees page. Paying with a debit card is called out as a problem in out-of-state applicant instructions—have a credit card for DEEDS.
Initial is a closed four-year box, not a renewable provisional. If mentoring or DPAS-II goes badly (more than one unsatisfactory annual evaluation), the Continuing License is not automatic. Trade and industry teachers get up to six years on Initial, which is easy to miss if you copy a colleague’s four-year calendar. DDOE will not treat an expired Initial as a Continuing just because you kept working.
Advanced License is National Board–specific. It is not a seniority promotion for veteran Delaware teachers who never sat for NBPTS. Reciprocity applicants with four-plus years of licensed experience should file Continuing, not Advanced, unless they actually hold National Board certification.
Required exams and fees
Delaware uses Praxis II content assessments (ETS reporting code R7065) and ACTFL where applicable. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis II content exam(s) for the Standard Certificate area (ETS code R7065)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Delaware certification exams, Delaware Department of Education — Educators Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Convert Initial to Continuing by completing mentoring/prescribed professional development and meeting the DPAS-II evaluation standard (no more than one unsatisfactory annual evaluation during Initial). Continuing Licenses renew on a five-year cycle. DDOE states you do not pay the $100 fee again for renewals.
Moving a license to Delaware
Out-of-state applicants apply in DEEDS for the license tier that matches experience (Initial if under four years of licensed teaching; Continuing if four or more; Advanced if National Board certified). Submit a copy of the out-of-state credential and Verification of Experience (Form E or E/NT). DDOE notes Praxis/ACTFL scores are not required for reciprocity applications. The same one-time $100 first-license fee applies and is reimbursable after public/charter employment. You must still meet certification requirements before a license is issued.
Official Delaware reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Delaware
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Delaware; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $132,710
- Employed
- 1,100
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $128,570
- Employed
- 360
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $75,920
- Employed
- 2,900
- Projected growth
- +10%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $67,780
- Employed
- 2,350
- Projected growth
- +10.1%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,960
- Employed
- 5,360
- Projected growth
- +10.3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Delaware, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Delaware
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Delaware subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Delaware preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a Delaware teaching license?
A one-time non-refundable $100 fee is charged for your first Delaware license (Initial, Continuing, or Advanced). DDOE reimburses that $100 after you are employed in a Delaware public district or charter school and are fully licensed and certified. Renewals do not pay the fee again.
What is the difference between a Delaware license and a certificate?
The license authorizes you to work as an educator. The certificate names the subject or student population you may teach. You need both a valid license and at least one certificate.
How long is a Delaware Initial License valid?
Four years for most educators (up to six years for trade and industry teachers). It is not renewable. Successful mentoring, prescribed professional development, and DPAS-II results lead to a five-year Continuing License.
Do reciprocity applicants have to retake Praxis?
DDOE’s out-of-state applicant page states test scores are not required for reciprocity applications. You still submit the out-of-state credential, experience verification, and transcripts, and you must meet certification requirements before the license is issued.
References
- Delaware Department of Education — Educators Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Understand the license-plus-certificate model. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in DEEDS through EdAccess. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pay the one-time $100 first-license fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete mentoring and move from Initial to Continuing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Praxis II content exam(s) for the Standard Certificate area (ETS code R7065). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Delaware Department of Education — Licensure and Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.