How to Become a Teacher in Connecticut

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Connecticut State Department of Education — Bureau of CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

To become a teacher in Connecticut, complete a State Board–approved preparation program, pass the endorsement content assessment(s), and obtain a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate. Praxis Core and edTPA are not certificate-issuance requirements. First-time Initial certificates have no application fee as of October 1, 2025. Advance to the Professional Educator Certificate ($375) after 50 school months of Connecticut service, TEAM, and—for teaching endorsements—a master’s degree. Applications run through the Bureau of Certification and CECS.

  1. Complete a State Board–approved educator preparation program
    Connecticut certification regulations require general academic and prof…
  2. Pass the endorsement content assessment(s)
    Required tests and cut scores vary by endorsement. Praxis Core is not r…
  3. Apply through the Bureau of Certification / CECS
    Create a Connecticut Educator Certification System account to view cert…
  4. Receive a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate
    Public Act 24-41, effective July 1, 2025, made Initial Educator Certifi…

Key takeaways

  • To become a teacher in Connecticut, complete a State Board–approved preparation program, pass the endorsement content assessment(s), and obtain a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate. Praxis Core and edTPA are not certificate-issuance requirements. First-time Initial certificates have no application fee as of October 1, 2025. Advance to the Professional Educator Certificate ($375) after 50 school months of Connecticut service, TEAM, and—for teaching endorsements—a master’s degree. Applications run through the Bureau of Certification and CECS.
  • Complete a State Board–approved educator preparation program
  • Pass the endorsement content assessment(s)
  • Apply through the Bureau of Certification / CECS

Connecticut certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Connecticut State Department of Education — Bureau of Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a State Board–approved educator preparation program

    Connecticut certification regulations require general academic and professional education coursework in a state-approved planned program that leads to an institutional recommendation. CSDE approves Connecticut programs; out-of-state programs must be approved by that jurisdiction’s authority. In-state completers applying for a first certificate submit a paper application rather than a first-time CECS online filing.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  2. Pass the endorsement content assessment(s)

    Required tests and cut scores vary by endorsement. Praxis Core is not required to issue an educator certificate; preparation providers must still have candidates take Praxis Core or SAT/ACT/GRE for diagnostic reading, writing, and mathematics under Public Act 16-41. As of July 1, 2024, the State Board no longer requires a successful edTPA score for program completion, though providers may still use edTPA diagnostically.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  3. Apply through the Bureau of Certification / CECS

    Create a Connecticut Educator Certification System account to view certificates, testing history, and later renewals or advances. First-time in-state graduates use the paper process CSDE describes in its Bureau FAQ. Effective October 1, 2025 (Public Act 25-168), there is no fee for first-time issuance or renewal of an Initial Educator Certificate.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  4. Receive a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate

    Public Act 24-41, effective July 1, 2025, made Initial Educator Certificates valid for ten years and discontinued new Provisional certificates. CSDE extended valid Initial certificates to a ten-year term without a fee balance. The continuum is now two-tier: Initial and Professional.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  5. Complete TEAM, 50 school months, and a master’s degree to advance

    To earn the Professional Educator Certificate, document at least 50 school months of successful Connecticut service under an Initial and/or Provisional certificate, complete Teacher Education and Mentoring (TEAM) or obtain an exemption, and—for teaching endorsements—hold a master’s degree. TEAM entry dates are September 1 or February 15 depending on assignment start. The Professional Educator Certificate fee is $375; Professional renewal is no cost on CSDE’s older fee table and remains the paid upgrade in the October 2025 alert.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

Connecticut spent 2025 dismantling its old three-tier ladder. Provisional is gone. Initial now lasts a decade, which changes how early-career teachers think about TEAM and the master’s degree: those are Professional-advance requirements, not a three-year cliff. CSDE automatically stretched Initial certificates that were valid on July 1, 2025; anyone whose Initial was due to die before that date had to file to avoid a lapse. If your printed certificate still shows a pre-2025 expiration, check CECS before assuming it expired.

The paper-application rule for first-time in-state completers surprises people who already built a CECS login. The Bureau FAQ still says those graduates cannot file the first certificate online. CECS remains the place to view testing history, later renewals, and advances (ED 170 online or paper). Mixing the two processes—uploading a first in-state file in CECS and waiting—creates a silence that looks like a backlog.

TEAM has its own calendar math. Entry is September 1 if you start a PK-12 classroom assignment before November 1, February 15 if you start after November 1 and before February 15, and the next September 1 if you start after February 15. Five-module endorsements are expected in two years with a three-year deadline; two-module endorsements are expected in one year with a two-year deadline. Missing TEAM does not instantly cancel the ten-year Initial, but it blocks the Professional advance along with the 50-month and master’s gates.

Fee reform landed on October 1, 2025. Initial issuance and renewal are $0. Professional is $375, and CSDE says educators eligible for Professional cannot be issued a lower-level Initial instead to avoid that fee. Cross-endorsements remain $100 each. Older web tables that still list $200 Initial / $250 Provisional are superseded by the October 2025 CertAlert implementing Public Act 25-168.

Required exams and fees

Connecticut uses Endorsement-specific Praxis (or other CSDE-listed) content assessments; Praxis Core is diagnostic for preparation programs only and is not required to issue a certificate. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Connecticut certification exams, Connecticut State Department of Education — Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Advance to Professional with 50 school months of successful Connecticut service, TEAM completion or exemption, and a master’s degree for teaching endorsements. Public Act 25-168 eliminated the fee for Initial issuance and renewal; the Professional Educator Certificate is $375. Cross-endorsements are $100 each.

Certificate term
10 years
Initial Educator Certificates are valid for ten years as of July 1, 2025. Provisional certificates are no longer issued or renewed. The Professional Educator Certificate is the second tier after 50 school months, TEAM, and (for teaching endorsements) a master’s degree. CSDE may allow one-year Initial extensions, up to three times, if Professional requirements are not yet met.
Application fee
$0–$375
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Connecticut

CSDE’s multiple-pathways materials allow applicants who completed an approved out-of-state program and/or document 30 months of successful full-time teaching under a valid certificate in the corresponding subject within ten years to have specific Connecticut coursework waived. Testing is not automatically waived. Educators may receive a three-year nonrenewable Interim Initial Educator Certificate with testing deferred; completing tests in those three years yields the ten-year Initial. Holders of a valid fully licensed certificate from an approved jurisdiction who meet CSDE’s testing-waiver rules may receive the ten-year Initial directly. Apply through the Bureau of Certification—not a compact overlay.

Official Connecticut reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Connecticut

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Connecticut; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $156,240
    Employed
    4,610
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $123,190
    Employed
    2,100
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $80,600
    Employed
    16,330
    Projected growth
    +2.7%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $93,610
    Employed
    7,920
    Projected growth
    +2.7%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $80,970
    Employed
    14,800
    Projected growth
    +2.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Connecticut, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Connecticut

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Connecticut subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Career and Technical EducationEnglish as a Second LanguageSpecial EducationSupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Connecticut, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Connecticut preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Connecticut outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Is there a fee for a Connecticut Initial Educator Certificate?

As of October 1, 2025, Public Act 25-168 eliminated the fee for first-time issuance and renewal of an Initial Educator Certificate. The Professional Educator Certificate is $375. Cross-endorsements are $100 each.

How long is a Connecticut Initial certificate valid?

Ten years, under Public Act 24-41 effective July 1, 2025. Provisional certificates are no longer issued or renewed.

Do I need Praxis Core or edTPA to be certified in Connecticut?

No. Praxis Core is not required to issue a certificate (programs still use it or SAT/ACT/GRE diagnostically). The State Board stopped requiring a successful edTPA score for program completion on July 1, 2024. Endorsement content tests still apply.

How do I get a Professional Educator Certificate?

Document 50 school months of successful Connecticut service under Initial and/or Provisional certification, complete TEAM or obtain an exemption, and hold a master’s degree if you have a teaching endorsement. Apply with ED 170 and an ED 126 experience statement signed by the superintendent or designee.

References

  1. Connecticut State Department of Education — Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete a State Board–approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Pass the endorsement content assessment(s). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Apply through the Bureau of Certification / CECS. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Receive a ten-year Initial Educator Certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  6. Complete TEAM, 50 school months, and a master’s degree to advance. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.