Utah
Utah teacher certification exams
Official Utah educator certification exam system (Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) for early childhood, elementary, and special education; Praxis for school leadership, counselor, and psychologist; optional content exams for some endorsements). Fees and cut scores appear only when the cited official source publishes them.
Exam system overview
Utah uses the Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) for early childhood, elementary, and special education; Praxis for school leadership, counselor, and psychologist; optional content exams for some endorsements assessment system (including Praxis assessments where the state assigns them). Exact tests depend on the certificate or endorsement you seek. Fees and cut scores appear below only when the cited official source publishes them; otherwise the cell reads “Not reported.”
- Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Special Education
- Passing score
- 240
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis exams — School Leadership (5412 or 6990), School Counselor (5422), School Psychologist (5403)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Special Education APPEL
- Passing score
- 240
- Fee
- Not reported.
Utah exams, sourced from Utah State Board of Education — Educator Licensing (as of September 2026).
Back to how to become a teacher in Utah
References
- Utah State Board of Education — Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a Utah-approved university educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass required license-area assessments. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a USBE background check and Educator Ethics Review in USIMS. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Renew the five-year Professional Educator License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.