West Virginia-approved traditional programs and alternative teaching certificates report Title II enrollment, completers, and published pass rates by provider.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in West Virginia
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- Teach for America - Appalachia (WV)alternative
- Enrollment
- 1
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Bethany College WVtraditional
- Enrollment
- 11
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Bluefield State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 66
- Completers
- 15
- Pass rate
- 57% (14 test takers)
- Cabell County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Braxton County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Morgan County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Nicholas County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- SREB Alternative Certification Programalternative
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- WVDE Alternative Certification Programalternative
- Enrollment
- 185
- Completers
- 52
- Pass rate
- 92% (51 test takers)
- ABCTE - WValternative
- Enrollment
- 242
- Completers
- 85
- Pass rate
- 93% (84 test takers)
- Concord Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 138
- Completers
- 41
- Pass rate
- 80% (41 test takers)
- Davis and Elkins Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 16
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Moreland University-WValternative
- Enrollment
- 11
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Fairmont State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 186
- Completers
- 58
- Pass rate
- 89% (53 test takers)
- Fayette County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 11
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Glenville State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 151
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 95% (21 test takers)
- Kanawha County School Districtalternative
- Enrollment
- 45
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Greenbrier County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 4
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Lincoln County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 11
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Marshall Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 726
- Completers
- 124
- Pass rate
- 81% (157 test takers)
- University of Charlestontraditional
- Enrollment
- 7
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Mercer County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 6
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Salem International Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 1
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Shepherd Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 341
- Completers
- 52
- Pass rate
- 90% (50 test takers)
- IteachWEST VIRGINIAalternative
- Enrollment
- 129
- Completers
- 39
- Pass rate
- 86% (28 test takers)
- West Liberty Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 149
- Completers
- 46
- Pass rate
- 98% (42 test takers)
- West Virginia State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 145
- Completers
- 29
- Pass rate
- 90% (29 test takers)
- West Virginia University Morgantowntraditional
- Enrollment
- 774
- Completers
- 133
- Pass rate
- 92% (133 test takers)
- West Virginia Wesleyan Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 20
- Completers
- 15
- Pass rate
- 91% (11 test takers)
- Wheeling Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 52
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- 55% (11 test takers)
- West Virginia University Parkersburgtraditional
- Enrollment
- 71
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- 92% (12 test takers)
- Preston County Schools Alt Routealternative
- Enrollment
- 7
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Appalachian Bible Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 10
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
West Virginia Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in West Virginia
27 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 13 public, 8 private nonprofit, 6 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- American Public University System
- Appalachian Bible College
- Bethany College
- Bluefield State University
- Catholic International University
- Concord University
- Davis & Elkins College
- Fairmont State University
- Future Generations University
- Glenville State University
- Marshall University
- Martinsburg College
- Potomac State College of West Virginia University
- Salem University
- Shepherd University
- Strayer University-West Virginia
- University of Charleston
- Valley College-Martinsburg
- West Liberty University
- West Virginia Junior College-Morgantown
- West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
- West Virginia State University
- West Virginia University
- West Virginia University at Parkersburg
Showing 24 of 27 alphabetically. Browse the full set via institution pages linked from Title II providers as outcomes publish.
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in West Virginia.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for West Virginia?
This cycle lists 33 provider-route rows for West Virginia: 17 traditional and 16 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for West Virginia?
For West Virginia, published enrollment across 33 rows is 3,541; published completers across 33 rows are 777. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read West Virginia Title II rows?
West Virginia-approved traditional programs and alternative teaching certificates report Title II enrollment, completers, and published pass rates by provider.