Montana OPI-approved traditional programs and Class 5 alternative licenses sit on different state credential tracks. Title II reports the preparation provider and route, not the Class number.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in Montana
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- University of Montanatraditional
- Enrollment
- 184
- Completers
- 87
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Stone Child Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 25
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of Montana-Westerntraditional
- Enrollment
- 569
- Completers
- 142
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Salish Kootenai Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 29
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Carroll Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 33
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of Providencetraditional
- Enrollment
- 32
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Montana State University-Northerntraditional
- Enrollment
- 33
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Montana State University-Bozemanalternative
- Enrollment
- 53
- Completers
- 16
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Montana State University-Bozemantraditional
- Enrollment
- 227
- Completers
- 103
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Montana State University-Billingstraditional
- Enrollment
- 231
- Completers
- 84
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Rocky Mountain Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 63
- Completers
- 16
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
Montana Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in Montana
14 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 9 public, 5 private nonprofit, 0 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- Aaniiih Nakoda College
- Blackfeet Community College
- Carroll College
- Montana Bible College
- Montana State University
- Montana State University Billings
- Montana State University-Northern
- Montana Technological University
- Rocky Mountain College
- Salish Kootenai College
- Stone Child College
- The University of Montana
- The University of Montana-Western
- University of Providence
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in Montana.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for Montana?
This cycle lists 11 provider-route rows for Montana: 10 traditional and 1 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for Montana?
For Montana, published enrollment across 11 rows is 1,479; published completers across 11 rows are 495. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read Montana Title II rows?
Montana OPI-approved traditional programs and Class 5 alternative licenses sit on different state credential tracks. Title II reports the preparation provider and route, not the Class number.